• Author : A Very English Scandal
  • Publisher : Other Press, LLC
  • Release Date : 2016-10-11
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN : 9781590518151
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

A thrilling true crime account of the scandalous private life of Jeremy Thorpe, the British MP whose covert homosexual affair led to blackmail, cover ups, a hired hitman, and ended with the “Trial of the Century." As a Member of Parliament and Leader of the Liberal Party in the 1960s and 70s, Jeremy Thorpe's bad behavior snuck under the radar for years. Police and politicians alike colluded to protect one of their own. In 1970, Thorpe was the most popular and charismatic politician in the country, poised to hold the balance of power in a coalition government. But Jeremy Thorpe was a man with a secret. His homosexual affairs and harassment of past partners, along with his propensity for lying and embezzlement, only escalated as he evaded punishment. Until a dark night on the moor with an ex-lover, a dog, and a hired gun led to consequences that even his charm and power couldn't help him escape. Dubbed the "Trial of the Century," Thorpe's climactic case at the Old Bailey in London was the first time that a leading British politician had stood trial on a murder charge, and the first time that a murder plot had been hatched in the House of Commons. And it was the first time that a prominent public figure had been exposed as a philandering gay man, in an era when homosexuality had only just become legal. With the pace and drama of a thriller, A VERY ENGLISH SCANDAL is an extraordinary story of hypocrisy, deceit, and betrayal at the heart of the British Establishment.


  • Author : A Very English Scandal
  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • Release Date : 2016-05-05
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN : 9780241973752
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

The bestselling book that inspired the Bafta-winning BBC drama,starring Hugh Grant and Ben Whishaw Corruption. Blackmail. Conspiracy to murder. A Very English Scandal has all the hallmarks of a classic thriller with one difference. It's all true. In the late 1960s Jeremy Thorp, the charismatic leader of the Liberal Party, was at the height of his political career. But homosexuality had only just been legalized, and a former relationship with a younger man named Norman Scott threatened to destroy Thorp's carefully curated facade. Helped by fellow politicians, Thorpe schemed, deceived and embezzled until he saw only one way to silence his ex-lover for good. Meticulously researched and endlessly extraordinary, Thorp's trial captured the moment that British society discovered the truth about its political class - and learned just how far the Establishment will go to protect its own. 'Gripping. A story of cack-handed assassins, buffoonish policemen, dodgy Home Secretaries' Daily Telegraph 'I loved it; eccentric, dark, humane and English in the very best sense' Alain de Botton 'Retold with masterful skill . . . It grips like a detective story' Daily Mail, Book of the Week


  • Author : The Routledge Companion to Media and Scandal
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release Date : 2019-04-18
  • Pages : 524
  • ISBN : 9781351172981
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Howard Tumber is Professor in the Department of Journalism at City, University of London, UK. He is a founder and co-editor of Journalism: Theory, Practice and Criticism. He has published widely in the field of the sociology of media and journalism. Silvio Waisbord is Professor in the School of Media and Public Affairs at George Washington University, USA. He was the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Communication, and he has published widely about news, politics and social change.


  • Author : A Very English Deceit
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2002
  • Pages : 282
  • ISBN : 9780007292783
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

The South Sea Bubble was a scandal of immense proportions. Malcolm Balen reveals the full story of corruption and scandal that attended the birth of the first shareholder economy, and with it uncovers a parable for our times.


  • Author : The Dig
  • Publisher : Other Press, LLC
  • Release Date : 2016-04-05
  • Pages : 272
  • ISBN : 9781590517819
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

A succinct and witty literary venture that tells the strange story of a priceless treasure discovered in East Anglia on the eve of World War II In the long, hot summer of 1939, Britain is preparing for war, but on a riverside farm in Suffolk there is excitement of another kind. Mrs. Pretty, the widowed owner of the farm, has had her hunch confirmed that the mounds on her land hold buried treasure. As the dig proceeds, it becomes clear that this is no ordinary find. This fictional recreation of the famed Sutton Hoo dig follows three months of intense activity when locals fought outsiders, professionals thwarted amateurs, and love and rivalry flourished in equal measure. As the war looms ever closer, engraved gold peeks through the soil, and each character searches for answers in the buried treasure. Their threads of love, loss, and aspiration weave a common awareness of the past as something that can never truly be left behind.


  • Author : British Politics A Very Short Introduction
  • Publisher : OUP Oxford
  • Release Date : 2013-05-30
  • Pages : 152
  • ISBN : 9780191637087
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Tony Wright's Very Short Introduction to British Politics is an interpretative essay on the British political system, rather than an abbreviated textbook on how it currently works. He identifies key characteristics and ideas of the British tradition, and investigates what makes British politics distinctive, while emphasizing throughout how these characteristics are reflected in the way the political system functions. Each chapter is organized around a key theme, such as the constitution or political accountability, which is first established and then explored with examples and illustrations. In this new edition Wright considers how the system has recently changed and continues to do so, in light of the coalition government and the fall of New Labour, as well as the impact of the financial crisis and issues such as terrorism and immigration. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.


  • Author : British Politics A Very Short Introduction
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release Date : 2013-05-30
  • Pages : 131
  • ISBN : 9780199661107
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

An interpretative essay on the British political system looks at the key characteristics and ideas of the British tradition, explores what makes British politics distinctive, and considers how the system continues to evolve.


  • Author : A Very English Deceit The Secret History of the South Sea Bubble and the First Great Financial Scandal Text Only
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2012-06-28
  • Pages : 272
  • ISBN : 9780007393909
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

The ebook of the critically acclaimed popular history book: the story of the South Sea Bubble which in Balen’s hands becomes a morality tale for our times. A classic collision of political ambition, mercenary greed and financial revolution.


  • Author : A Little London Scandal
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2020-08-20
  • Pages : 336
  • ISBN : 9780008244347
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

A story of class and corruption, sex and the Sixties, for fans of A Very English Scandal and The Trial of Christine Keeler


  • Author : Wicked Baby
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2005-09-01
  • Pages : 112
  • ISBN : 9781904929451
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

It's 1960, and a seventeen-year old girl is alone in London. While working as a dancer in a club, she meets a jaded society doctor who introduces her to rich and powerful men. But Christine Keeler is much more than just another empty-headed beauty. Privy to secrets that threaten the heart of government, she is hunted down and forced to tell the truth as she sees it. 'Wicked Baby' is a novella based on the events of the Profumo Affair, a tale of innocence corrupted that dares to imagine the complex desires and motives behind a very English scandal.