Buddhist Boot Camp


  • Author : Timber Hawkeye
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 2013-02-19
  • ISBN : 0062267450
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Buddhism is all about training the mind, and boot camp is an ideal training method for this generation's short attention span. The chapters in this small book can be read in any order, and are simple and easy to understand. Each story, inspirational quote, and teaching offers mindfulness-enhancing techniques that anyone can relate to. You don't need to be a Buddhist to find the Buddha's teachings motivational. As the Dalai Lama says, "Don't try to use what you learn from Buddhism to be a Buddhist; use it to be a better whatever-you-already-are." So whether it's Mother Teresa's acts of charity, Gandhi's perseverance, or your aunt Betty's calm demeanor, as long as you're motivated to be better today than you were yesterday, it doesn't matter who inspires you. Regardless of religion, geographical region, race, ethnicity, color, gender, sexual orientation, age, ability, flexibility, or vulnerability, if you do good you feel good, and if you do bad you feel bad. Buddhism isn't just about meditating. It's about rolling up your sleeves to relieve some of the suffering in the world. If you are ready to be a soldier of peace in the army of love, welcome to Buddhist Boot Camp!

Buddhist Boot Camp


  • Author : Timber Hawkeye
  • Publisher : Timber Hawkeye
  • Release : 2012-06
  • ISBN : 1105746313
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Mahalo


  • Author : Timber Hawkeye
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2017-10-24
  • ISBN : 9781946005618
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

If you wake up thinking you didn't get enough sleep or that you're not pretty enough, rich enough, healthy enough, or anything-else-enough, you start each day with the mindset of scarcity and experience life from a place of lack. That's about to change! Gratitude turns what we have into enough, which is the true definition of being rich.

Life Purpose Boot Camp


  • Author : Eric Maisel
  • Publisher : New World Library
  • Release : 2014-10-14
  • ISBN : 1608683060
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A no-excuses, cut-to-the-chase program for defining, training for, and achieving your goals As life gets busier and more complicated we crave something larger and more meaningful than just ticking another item off our to-do list. In the past, we’ve looked to religion or outside guidance for that sense of purpose, but today fewer people are fulfilled by traditional approaches to meaning. Bestselling author, psychotherapist, and creativity coach Eric Maisel offers an alternative: an eight-week intensive that breaks through barriers and offers insights for living each day with purpose. Once you understand how meaning operates, how meaning and life purpose are related, and what concrete steps you can take toward fulfilling your purpose, you will never run out of meaning again. This program will develop self-awareness and self-confidence and give you what you need to fully live the best possible life.

Manao


  • Author : Timber Hawkeye
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2020-05-26
  • ISBN : 9781946005465
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Mana'o is the Hawaiian word for thoughts, ideas, contemplation, intention, and meditation. Use this monthly journal to discover the benefits of mindfully living at peace with the world, both within and around us.

The Lightness


  • Author : Emily Temple
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 2020-06-16
  • ISBN : 0062905341
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

"The Lightness could be the love child of Donna Tartt and Tana French, but its savage, glittering magic is all Emily Temple’s own." —Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists A Most Anticipated Novel by Elle • WSJ. Magazine • Glamour • Bustle • Buzzfeed • The Millions • The Philadelphia Inquirer • Publishers Weekly • Literary Hub • Electric Literature • and more! A stylish, stunningly precise, and suspenseful meditation on adolescent desire, female friendship, and the female body that shimmers with rage, wit, and fierce longing—an audacious, darkly observant, and mordantly funny literary debut for fans of Emma Cline, Ottessa Moshfegh, and Jenny Offill. One year ago, the person Olivia adores most in the world, her father, left home for a meditation retreat in the mountains and never returned. Yearning to make sense of his shocking departure and to escape her overbearing mother—a woman as grounded as her father is mercurial—Olivia runs away from home and retraces his path to a place known as the Levitation Center. Once there, she enrolls in their summer program for troubled teens, which Olivia refers to as “Buddhist Boot Camp for Bad Girls”. Soon, she finds herself drawn into the company of a close-knit trio of girls determined to transcend their circumstances, by any means necessary. Led by the elusive and beautiful Serena, and her aloof, secretive acolytes, Janet and Laurel, the girls decide this is the summer they will finally achieve enlightenment—and learn to levitate, to defy the weight of their bodies, to experience ultimate lightness. But as desire and danger intertwine, and Olivia comes ever closer to discovering what a body—and a girl—is capable of, it becomes increasingly clear that this is an advanced and perilous practice, and there’s a chance not all of them will survive. Set over the course of one fateful summer that unfolds like a fever dream, The Lightness juxtaposes fairy tales with quantum physics, cognitive science with religious fervor, and the passions and obsessions of youth with all of these, to explore concepts as complex as faith and as simple as loving people—even though you don’t, and can’t, know them at all.

Sit Like a Buddha


  • Author : Lodro Rinzler
  • Publisher : Shambhala Publications
  • Release : 2014-11-04
  • ISBN : 0834830051
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Believe what you’ve heard about meditation: it’ll focus your mind, open your heart, and sometimes surprise you with insight. And it’s not complicated to learn. In fact, everything you need to get started is contained in the pages of this little book. Lodro Rinzler begins by challenging you to ask yourself why you want to meditate in the first place (good news—there’s no wrong answer!). With your intention thus in place, he teaches you all the basics, along with advice for making your meditation practice a priority no matter how busy you are. He then shows you how to bring the wisdom and compassion you discover in meditation into all other areas of your life.

Manao


  • Author : Timber Hawkeye
  • Publisher : Manao Monthly Journals with Da
  • Release : 2018-11-11
  • ISBN : 9781946005502
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Mana'o is the Hawaiian word for thoughts, ideas, contemplation, intention, and meditation. Use this monthly journal to discover the benefits of mindfully living at peace with the world, both within and around us.

Siddhartha's Brain


  • Author : James Kingsland
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 2016-04-26
  • ISBN : 0062403869
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A groundbreaking exploration of the “science of enlightenment,” told through the lens of the journey of Siddhartha (better known as Buddha), by Guardian science editor James Kingsland. In a lush grove on the banks of the Neranjara in northern India—400 years before the birth of Christ, when the foundations of western science and philosophy were being laid by the great minds of Ancient Greece—a prince turned ascetic wanderer sat beneath a fig tree. His name was Siddhartha Gautama, and he was discovering the astonishing capabilities of the human brain and the secrets of mental wellness and spiritual “enlightenment,” the foundation of Buddhism. Framed by the historical journey and teachings of the Buddha, Siddhartha’s Brain shows how meditative and Buddhist practice anticipated the findings of modern neuroscience. Moving from the evolutionary history of the brain to the disorders and neuroses associated with our technology-driven world, James Kingsland explains why the ancient practice of mindfulness has been so beneficial and so important for human beings across time. Far from a New Age fad, the principles of meditation have deep scientific support and have been proven to be effective in combating many contemporary psychiatric disorders. Siddhartha posited that “Our life is shaped by our mind; we become what we think.” As we are increasingly driven to distraction by competing demands, our ability to focus and control our thoughts has never been more challenged—or more vital. Siddhartha’s Brain offers a cutting-edge, big-picture assessment of meditation and mindfulness: how it works, what it does to our brains, and why meditative practice has never been more important.

To Hold The Sun


  • Author : Chas Watkins
  • Publisher : Chas Watkins
  • Release : 2013-04-22
  • ISBN : 1631024086
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The award winning book that can change your life! The book outlines the experiences of a young, poor, and disillusioned reporter who is enticed to do a series of articles about Paul, an unconventional philosopher and motivational speaker. In exchange, he gets to travel to and dive on Roatan, arguably one of the most beautiful, pristine islands in the Caribbean. Through a series of interviews, the reporter gets to know Paul's innermost philosophies. He learns an alternate way of living from a man who strives to perfect handstands on a dock and practices the art of happiness. When the author realized his children were leaving home to begin their journeys through life, he wrote this story for them. He developed it as a guide to help them through life in a way that would allow them to enjoy the journey. Drawing on wildly diverse disciplines including stoicism, neuroscience, skepticism, behavioral economics, and spirituality; the reader is taken on a journey that exposes the author's philosophy of life. He shows that happiness is indeed a choice. All places detailed on Roatan exist and are more beautiful than described. Photos are by kind permission of Shawn Jackson.