Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions


  • Author : Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Publisher : Knopf Canada
  • Release : 2017-03-07
  • ISBN : 0735273421
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

An instant feminist classic, and perfect gift for all parents, women, and people working towards gender equality. Here is a brilliant, beautifully readable, and above all practical expansion of the ideas this iconic author began to explore in her bestselling manifesto, We Should All Be Feminists. A few years ago, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie received a letter from a dear friend from childhood, asking how to raise her new baby girl a feminist. Although she has written and spoken out widely about feminism, Adichie wasn't sure how to advise her friend Ijeawele. But as a person who'd babysat, had loved her nieces and nephews, and now, too, was the mother of a daughter herself, she thought she would try. So she sent Ijeawele a letter with some suggestions--15 in all--which she has now decided to share with the world. Compelling, direct, wryly funny, and perceptive, Dear Ijeawele offers specifics on how we can empower our daughters to become strong, independent women. Here, too, are ways parents can raise their children--both sons and daughters--beyond a culture's limiting gender prescriptions. This short, sharp work rings out in Chimamanda's voice: infused with deep honesty, clarity, strength, and above all love. She speaks to the important work of raising a girl in today's world, and provides her readers with a clear proposal for inclusive, nuanced thinking. Here we have not only a rousing manifesto, but a powerful gift for all people invested in the idea of creating a just society--an endeavour now more urgent and important than ever.

Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions


  • Author : Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 2017-03-07
  • ISBN : 1524733148
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A few years ago, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie received a letter from a childhood friend, a new mother who wanted to know how to raise her baby girl to be a feminist. Dear Ijeawele is Adichie’s letter of response: fifteen invaluable suggestions—direct, wryly funny, and perceptive—for how to empower a daughter to become a strong, independent woman. Filled with compassionate guidance and advice, it gets right to the heart of sexual politics in the twenty-first century, and starts a new and urgently needed conversation about what it really means to be a woman today.

Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions


  • Author : Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release : 2017-03-07
  • ISBN : 000824104X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

From the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists comes a powerful new statement about feminism today – written as a letter to a friend.

We Should All be Feminists


  • Author : Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 2015
  • ISBN : 110191176X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Offers an updated definition of feminism for the twenty-first century, one rooted in inclusion and awareness.

Dear Ijeawele


  • Author : Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2018
  • ISBN :
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Writers & Company


  • Author : Eleanor Wachtel
  • Publisher : Knopf Canada
  • Release : 1993
  • ISBN : 0394227387
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

I've Been Meaning to Tell You


  • Author : David Chariandy
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release : 2018-05-29
  • ISBN : 0771018088
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today. When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask "what happened?" David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. A decade later, in a newly heated era of both struggle and divisions, he writes a letter to his now thirteen-year-old daughter. David is the son of Black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, and he draws upon his personal and ancestral past, including the legacies of slavery, indenture, and immigration, as well as the experiences of growing up a visible minority within the land of one's birth. In sharing with his daughter his own story, he hopes to help cultivate within her a sense of identity and responsibility that balances the painful truths of the past and present with hopeful possibilities for the future.

A Companion to Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie


  • Author : Ernest N. Emenyonu
  • Publisher : Boydell & Brewer
  • Release : 2017
  • ISBN : 1847011624
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Frontcover -- Contents -- Notes on Contributors -- Acknowledgements -- Introduction -- 1. Narrating the Past: Orality, History & the Production of Knowledge in the Works of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie -- 2. Deconstructing Binary Oppositions of Gender in Purple Hibiscus: A Review of Religious/Traditional Superiority & Silence -- 3. Adichie & the West African Voice: Women & Power in Purple Hibiscus -- 4. Reconstructing Motherhood: A Mutative Reality in Purple Hibiscus -- 5. Ritualized Abuse in Purple Hibiscus -- 6. Dining Room & Kitchen: Food-Related Spaces & their Interfaces with the Female Body in Purple Hibiscus -- 7. The Paradox of Vulnerability: The Child Voice in Purple Hibiscus -- 8. 'Fragile Negotiations': Olanna's Melancholia in Half of a Yellow Sun -- 9. The Biafran War & the Evolution of Domestic Space in Half of a Yellow Sun -- 10. Corruption in Post-Independence Politics: Half of a Yellow Sun as a Reflection of A Man of the People -- 11. Contrasting Gender Roles in Male-Crafted Fiction with Half of a Yellow Sun -- 12. 'A Kind of Paradise': Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Claim to Agency, Responsibility & Writing -- 13. Dislocation, Cultural Memory & Transcultural Identity in Select Stories from The Thing Around Your Neck -- 14. 'Reverse Appropriations' & Transplantation in Americanah -- 15. Revisiting Double Consciousness & Relocating the Self in Americanah -- 16. Adichie's Americanah: A Migrant Bildungsroman -- 17. 'Hairitage' Matters: Transitioning & the Third Wave Hair Movement in 'Hair', 'Imitation' & Americanah -- Appendix: The Works of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie -- Index

Purple Hibiscus


  • Author : Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Publisher : Vintage Canada
  • Release : 2013-03-26
  • ISBN : 0345808118
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Fifteen-year-old Kambili's world is circumscribed by the high walls and frangipani trees of her family compound. Her wealthy Catholic father, under whose shadow Kambili lives, while generous and politically active in the community, is repressive and fanatically religious at home. When Nigeria begins to fall apart under a military coup, Kambili's father sends her and her brother away to stay with their aunt, a University professor, whose house is noisy and full of laughter. There, Kambili and her brother discover a life and love beyond the confines of their father's authority. The visit will lift the silence from their world and, in time, give rise to devotion and defiance that reveal themselves in profound and unexpected ways. This is a book about the promise of freedom; about the blurred lines between childhood and adulthood, between love and hatred, between the old gods and the new.

The Thing Around Your Neck


  • Author : Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Publisher : Knopf Canada
  • Release : 2010-06-01
  • ISBN : 0307375234
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

These twelve dazzling stories from Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie — the Orange Broadband Prize–winning author of Half of a Yellow Sun — are her most intimate works to date. In these stories Adichie turns her penetrating eye to the ties that bind men and women, parents and children, Nigeria and the United States. In “A Private Experience,” a medical student hides from a violent riot with a poor Muslim woman, and the young mother at the centre of “Imitation” finds her comfortable life in Philadelphia threatened when she learns that her husband has moved his mistress into their Lagos home. Searing and profound, suffused with beauty, sorrow and longing, this collection is a resounding confirmation of Adichie’s prodigious literary powers. From the Hardcover edition.