• Author : Girls on Fire
  • Publisher : McFarland
  • Release Date : 2018-04-04
  • Pages : 290
  • ISBN : 9781476631448
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

 Under the threat of climate change, corruption, inequality and injustice, Americans may feel they are living in a dystopian novel come to life. Like many American narratives, dystopian stories often focus on males as the agents of social change. With a focus on the intersections of race, gender, class, sexuality and power, the author analyzes the themes, issues and characters in young adult (YA) dystopian fiction featuring female protagonists—the Girls on Fire who inspire progressive transformation for the future.


  • Author : Girls on Fire
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2016-05-05
  • Pages : 368
  • ISBN : 9781408707128
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

'Captivating' Sunday Times 'Will utterly terrify you - in the best way possible' Buzzfeed 'While it is a mystery, the true strength of the novel comes from the honesty of the girls' portrayal' Guardian 'A hypnotic debut' Elle 'We couldn't put this one down' Marie Claire This is not a story of bad things happening to bad girls. I say this because I know you, Dex, and I know how you think. I'm going to tell you a story, and this time, it will be the truth. Hannah Dexter is a nobody, ridiculed and isolated at school by golden girl Nikki Drummond. But in their junior year of high school, Nikki's boyfriend walks into the woods and shoots himself. In the wake of the suicide, Hannah befriends new girl Lacey and soon the pair are inseparable, bonded by their shared hatred of Nikki. Lacey transforms good girl Hannah into Dex who is up for any challenge Lacey throws at her. The two girls bring their combined wills to bear on the community in which they live and think they are invulnerable. But Lacey has a secret, about life before her better half, and it's a secret that will change everything . . .


  • Author : Teaching Girls on Fire
  • Publisher : McFarland
  • Release Date : 2020-05-19
  • Pages : 226
  • ISBN : 9781476638904
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

The rise of YA dystopian literature has seen an explosion of female protagonists who are stirring young people's interest in social and political topics, awakening their civic imagination, and inspiring them to work for change. These "Girls on Fire" are intersectional and multidimensional characters. They are leaders in their communities and they challenge injustice and limited representations. The Girl on Fire fights for herself and for those who are oppressed, voiceless, or powerless. She is the hope for our shared future. This collection of new essays brings together teachers and students from a variety of educational contexts to explore how to harness the cultural power of the Girl on Fire as we educate real-world students. Each essay provides both theoretical foundations as well as practical, hands-on teaching tools that can be used with diverse groups of students, in formal as well as informal educational settings. This volume challenges readers to realize the symbolic power the Girl on Fire has to raise consciousness and inform action and to keep that fire burning.


  • Author : Jennifer Lawrence Girl on Fire The Biography
  • Publisher : Kings Road Publishing
  • Release Date : 2016-03-03
  • Pages : 300
  • ISBN : 9781786060907
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

JENNIFER LAWRENCE is the reigning queen of lots of things: Hollywood, the awkward award-ceremony-stumble, and hundreds of priceless BuzzFeed pages - to name a few. She announced herself to the world at a young age in The Burning Plain and Winter’s Bone, gripping dramas set in America’s deprived heartland. Ironic, then, that such a gifted character actress has become a household name through two of the biggest fantasy roles in the business: the deadly shapeshifting assassin Mystique from Marvel’s X-Men series and the gutsy, warlike heroine of Suzanne Collin’s bestselling Hunger Games trilogy, Katniss Everdeen - the Girl on Fire. As Katniss and Mystique, she owns the screen, oozing grace, attitude and menace, re-defining the roles of women in action films as more than ragdolls to be saved by muscle-bound men; this girl doesn’t need saving by anyone. But Jennifer couldn’t be more different off-screen. Always ready with a smile or a quip about embarrassing everyday struggles, she is loved by millions for being a genuinely relatable personality in an industry of preening posers. And make no mistake: she has had every reason to lose her sunny disposition. She struggled early on in her career with a hurtful ‘fat actress’ label in spite of her healthy body type, and suffered public heartbreak with the likes of Coldplay’s Chris Martin. In 2014, she was to suffer the ultimate indignity of having private photos leaked onto the internet for all to see. A lesser girl might have become spiteful, but Jennifer has always emerged with her head held high. This is the first biography of an Academy Award winner, a star of our screens for years to come and a role model for girls and young women everywhere. In every sense, this really is the story of a Girl on Fire.


  • Author : Girls on Fire
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2014-09-01
  • Pages : 156
  • ISBN : 1928247067
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Award-winning country chef Camilla Comins learned much of her craft producing gourmet meals on a bed of coals as a young cook in Botswana. She cooked three square meals a day for foreign safari guests, offering everything from frittatas to Chelsea buns without so much as a stove to cook on, let alone an oven. In these pages you will find her tips on how to light and maintain a braai fire in the most common types of braai. She also looks beyond the chop and the wors to more delicate, well-crafted, and healthy options from the fire. Understanding that girls like to get all the work done in time so they can clean up and put on some lipstick before the guests arrive, these recipes are designed so that most of the work is done ahead of time; all you have to do is put the last bits on the fire when guests come. Comins is keenly aware of the need to feed kids and keep them happy at the braai, so there's a whole section on ideas for feeding them and even letting them help. She also tackles the typically bland braai setting where guys hang around in shorts gripping a pair of tongs, and dresses things up with a bit of bunting and some feminine touches.


  • Author : The Girl of Fire and Thorns
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2011-09-20
  • Pages : 448
  • ISBN : 9780062093325
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

“Rae Carson has proved she’s a master and has shaken up the YA genre.”—USAToday.com The first book in Rae Carson’s award-winning and New York Times–bestselling trilogy! The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a sweeping journey full of adventure, sorcery, heartbreak, and power. Fans of George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones and Leigh Bardugo’s Grishaverse will devour this fantasy series. Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness. Elisa is the chosen one. But she has always felt powerless, useless. Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs her to be the chosen one, not a failure of a princess. And he's not the only one who seeks her. Fierce enemies, seething with dark magic, are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people's savior. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake. Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn't die young. Most of the chosen do. William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten Pick Andre Norton Award Finalist A Texas Tayshas Selection Ohioana Book Award YA winner Don’t miss Empire of Dreams, Rae Carson’s action-packed return to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns, coming in 2020!


  • Author : The Girl of Fire and Thorns Complete Collection
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2014-08-26
  • Pages : 1613
  • ISBN : 9780062373236
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

“Carson joins the ranks of writers like Kristin Cashore, Megan Whalen Turner, and Tamora Pierce as one of YA’s best writers of high fantasy.”—Locus Magazine All three volumes of Rae Carson's New York Times‒bestselling The Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy plus the three novellas set in the same world, available together! An insecure princess with an unclear destiny becomes a secret bride, a revolutionary, a queen, and—finally—the champion her world so desperately needs in this epic fantasy series that Tamora Pierce called "engrossing" and that Veronica Roth said was "intense, unique . . . definitely recommended." Once every century, one person is chosen for greatness. But the prophecy is vague, and Elisa has no idea why she was chosen or how she will fulfill the expectations. Her future is unknown and her potential is tremendous—even if she doesn't realize it. A sweeping fantasy series about a young woman finding her true strength, this is perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore's Graceling and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones. This collection includes the three volumes of the trilogy: book one, The Girl of Fire and Thorns; book two, The Crown of Embers; and book three, The Bitter Kingdom. It also includes the three novellas set in the world of the series: The Shadow Cats, The Shattered Mountain, and The King's Guard. Don’t miss Empire of Dreams, Rae Carson’s action-packed return to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns, coming in 2020!


  • Author : Proms Balls
  • Publisher : Fire & Ice Young Adult Books
  • Release Date : 2018-08-04
  • Pages : 146
  • ISBN :
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

No matter the day, the age, the realm, even a kick ass girl loves an excuse to get dressed up and dance her heart out. From contemporary to paranormal, get ready to read six tales of proms and balls. These girls are looking for a fun night out, but teen drama, demons, and even pirates put a kink in their plans!


  • Author : School for Extraterrestrial Girls 1
  • Publisher : Papercutz
  • Release Date : 2020-08-04
  • Pages : 128
  • ISBN : 1545804931
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:


  • Author : Camp Fire Girls
  • Publisher : Applewood Books
  • Release Date : 2009-08-01
  • Pages : 100
  • ISBN : 9781429091039
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

The original manual of the Camp Fire Girls, an organization among whose founders were Dr. & Mrs. Luther Halsey Gulick, was published in 1912. The motto of the Camp Fire Girls, ""WoHeLo,"" was also the name of the Gulick's summer camp on Lake Sebago, ME. It stood for ""work, health, love."" ""The primary purpose of Camp Fire,"" said Dr. Gulick, ""is to promote service to others, team work, and opportunities for a well rounded life.""