House of Nails


  • Author : Lenny Dykstra
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 2016-06-28
  • ISBN : 0062407384
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

"Tough, straight, upsetting, and strangely beautiful. One of the best sports autobiographies I've ever read. It comes from the heart." —Stephen King Eclipsing the traditional sports memoir, House of Nails, by former world champion, multimillionaire entrepreneur, and imprisoned felon Lenny Dykstra, spins a tragicomic tale of Shakespearean proportions -- a relentlessly entertaining American epic that careens between the heights and the abyss. Nicknamed "Nails" for his hustle and grit, Lenny approached the game of baseball -- and life -- with mythic intensity. During his decade in the majors as a center fielder for the legendary 1980s Mets and the 1990s Phillies, he was named to three All-Star teams and played in two of the most memorable World Series of the modern era. An overachiever known for his clutch hits, high on-base percentage, and aggressive defense, Lenny was later identified by his former minor-league roommate Billy Beane as the prototypical "Moneyball" player in Michael Lewis's bestseller. Tobacco-stained, steroid-powered, and booze-and-drug-fueled, Nails also defined a notorious era of excess in baseball. Then came a second act no novelist could plausibly conjure: After retiring, Dykstra became a celebrated business mogul and investment guru. Touted as "one of the great ones" by CNBC's Jim Cramer, he became "baseball's most improbable post-career success story" (The New Yorker), purchasing a $17.5-million mansion and traveling the world by private jet. But when the economy imploded in 2008, Lenny lost everything. Then the feds moved in: convicted of bankruptcy fraud (unjustly, he contends), Lenny served two and a half harrowing years in prison, where he was the victim of a savage beating by prison guards that knocked out his front teeth. The Daily Show's Jon Stewart, channeling the bewildered fascination of many observers, declared that Lenny's outrageous rise and spectactular fall was "the greatest story that I have ever seen in my lifetime." Now, for the first time, Lenny tells all about his tumultuous career, from battling through crippling pain to steroid use and drug addiction, to a life of indulgence and excess, then, an epic plunge and the long road back to redemption. Was Lenny's hard-charging, risk-it-all nature responsible for his success in baseball and business and his precipitous fall from grace? What lessons, if any, has he learned now that he has had time to think and reflect? Hilarious, unflinchingly honest, and irresistibly readable, House of Nails makes no apologies and leaves nothing left unsaid.

House of Nails


  • Author : Lenny Dykstra
  • Publisher : William Morrow Paperbacks
  • Release : 2017-05-30
  • ISBN : 9780062407375
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Eclipsing the traditional sports memoir, House of Nails is a tale of Shakespearian proportions—a relentlessly entertaining ride that careens from the heights to the abyss. Lenny Dykstra, nicknamed “Nails” for his hustle and grit, approached the game of baseball—and life—with mythic intensity. During his decade in the majors as a legendary member of the 1980s Mets and 1990s Phillies, he was named to three All-Star teams and played in two of the most memorable World Series of the modern era. Then came a second act no novelist could plausibly conjure: After retiring, Dykstra became “baseball’s most improbable post-career success story” (The New Yorker). But when the real estate bubble burst in 2008, Lenny lost everything. Then the feds moved in: convicted of bankruptcy fraud (unjustly, he contends), Lenny served two and a half harrowing years in prison. Now, for the first time, Dykstra tells all about his tumultuous career on and off the field. House of Nails asks no apologies and leaves nothing left unsaid.

A Carpenter's Life as Told by Houses


  • Author : Larry Haun,Kevin Ireton
  • Publisher : Taunton Press
  • Release : 2011
  • ISBN : 1600854028
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Installing a beautiful walkway made of pavers, creating a dramatic brick-covered wall, or even repairing foundational cracks to preserve your home--projects like these are easier than ever for DIY-ers with Masonry Complete, today's most comprehensive reference on masonry. Written for both beginner and advanced home improvers by a second-generation stonesman, this complete masonry guide delves deeply into everything, including buying the right tools, setting up safety precautions, digging a footing, pouring concrete, building a stone fireplace, repairing old masonry, and more. With Cody Macfie's step-by-step approach and you-can-do-it attitude, readers will feel empowered and confident to tackle any project, deal with challenges should they arise, and proudly net a finished product in less time than imagined.

Woman on the Edge


  • Author : Samantha M. Bailey
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 2019-11-26
  • ISBN : 1982126752
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A moment on the subway platform changes two women’s lives forever—a debut thriller that will take your breath away. A total stranger on the subway platform whispers, “Take my baby.” She places her child in your arms. She says your name. Then she jumps... In a split second, Morgan Kincaid’s life changes forever. She’s on her way home from work when a mother begs her to take her baby, then places the infant in her arms. Before Morgan can stop her, the distraught mother jumps in front of an oncoming train. Morgan has never seen this woman before, and she can’t understand what would cause a person to give away her child and take her own life. She also can’t understand how this woman knew her name. The police take Morgan in for questioning. She soon learns that the woman who jumped was Nicole Markham, prominent CEO of the athletic brand Breathe. She also learns that no witness can corroborate her version of events, which means she’s just become a murder suspect. To prove her innocence, Morgan frantically retraces the last days of Nicole’s life. Was Nicole a new mother struggling with paranoia or was she in danger? When strange things start happening to Morgan, she suddenly realizes she might be in danger, too. Woman on the Edge is a pulse-pounding, propulsive thriller about the lengths to which a woman will go to protect her baby—even if that means sacrificing her own life.

The House at the Edge of Night


  • Author : Catherine Banner
  • Publisher : Doubleday Canada
  • Release : 2016-07-12
  • ISBN : 0385686293
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A sweeping, propulsive family saga set on a romantic and beautiful Italian island, for fans of Captain Corelli's Mandolin and Beautiful Ruins. On the tiny, idyllic island of Castellamare, off the coast of Sicily, lies The House at the Edge of Night, an ancient bar run by the Esposito family. There, over the course of three generations--from the eve of World War One to the aftershocks of the 2008 financial crisis--the Esposito women will fight to hold their family together against the threats that break across their shores. As lush and magical as the island at its centre, The House at the Edge of Night is a story of love and secrets, endurance, loss and, ultimately, triumph. From the Hardcover edition.

A $500 House in Detroit


  • Author : Drew Philp
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 2017-04-11
  • ISBN : 147679801X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A young college grad buys a house in Detroit for $500 and attempts to restore it—and his new neighborhood—to its original glory in this “deeply felt, sharply observed personal quest to create meaning and community out of the fallen…A standout” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). Drew Philp, an idealistic college student from a working-class Michigan family, decides to live where he can make a difference. He sets his sights on Detroit, the failed metropolis of abandoned buildings, widespread poverty, and rampant crime. Arriving with no job, no friends, and no money, Philp buys a ramshackle house for five hundred dollars in the east side neighborhood known as Poletown. The roomy Queen Anne he now owns is little more than a clapboard shell on a crumbling brick foundation, missing windows, heat, water, electricity, and a functional roof. A $500 House in Detroit is Philp’s raw and earnest account of rebuilding everything but the frame of his house, nail by nail and room by room. “Philp is a great storyteller…[and his] engrossing” (Booklist) tale is also of a young man finding his footing in the city, the country, and his own generation. We witness his concept of Detroit shift, expand, and evolve as his plan to save the city gives way to a life forged from political meaning, personal connection, and collective purpose. As he assimilates into the community of Detroiters around him, Philp guides readers through the city’s vibrant history and engages in urgent conversations about gentrification, racial tensions, and class warfare. Part social history, part brash generational statement, part comeback story, A $500 House in Detroit “shines [in its depiction of] the ‘radical neighborliness’ of ordinary people in desperate circumstances” (Publishers Weekly). This is an unforgettable, intimate account of the tentative revival of an American city and a glimpse at a new way forward for generations to come.

Nails, the Inside Story of an Amazin' Season


  • Author : Lenny Dykstra,Marty Noble
  • Publisher : Doubleday Books
  • Release : 1987
  • ISBN : 9780385242530
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The outspoken center fielder of the New York Mets tells the inside story of the team's '86 season, with details on their victories in the playoffs and the World Series and insights into the team's off-the-field controversies

Life Would Be Perfect If I Lived in That House


  • Author : Meghan Daum
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 2011-06
  • ISBN : 0307454843
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Chronicles the author's obsession with finding the perfect house, which culminated in her depleting her life savings to purchase a 900-square-foot bungalow with ancient plumbing and a junk-filled garage, in a book that explores the perils and pleasures of believing that only a house can make you whole. Reprint.

Special Deluxe


  • Author : Neil Young
  • Publisher : Plume
  • Release : 2015-12
  • ISBN : 014751651X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The iconic rock star's New York Times bestselling follow-up to Waging Heavy Peace that "reads like a great Neil Young song plays." (The Buffalo News) In this acclaimed new memoir, New York Times bestselling author Neil Young has fashioned another extraordinary work of reminiscences told through the lens of one of his deepest passions: cars. A lifelong devotee and collector, Young explores his love for the well-crafted vintage automobile and examines his newfound awareness of his hobby's negative environmental impact. Witty, eclectic, candid, and filled with Young's original artwork, Special Deluxe will appeal to car lovers as well as the legions devoted to one of the most genuine and enigmatic artists of our time.

The Fractalist


  • Author : Benoit B. Mandelbrot
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 2014-01-14
  • ISBN : 030738991X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A Yale mathematician best known for his ideas on fractals traces his early years as a member of a Lithuanian Jewish family in Warsaw, his education under challenging circumstances, and his development of a new geometry that unfolded formerly hidden laws governing chaos and the natural and financial worlds. Reprint.