Ninth City Burning


  • Author : J. Patrick Black
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 2016-09-06
  • ISBN : 1101991453
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

For fans of Ender’s Game, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut... Cities vanished, gone in flashes of world-shattering destruction. An alien race had come to make Earth theirs, bringing a power so far beyond human technology it seemed like magic. It was nearly the end of the world—until we learned to seize the power, and use it to fight back. The war has raged for five centuries. For a cadet like Jax, one of the few who can harness the enemy’s universe-altering force, that means growing up in an elite military academy, training for battle at the front—and hoping he is ready. For Naomi, young nomad roaming the wilds of a ruined Earth, it means a daily fight for survival against the savage raiders who threaten her caravan. When a new attack looms, these two young warriors find their paths suddenly intertwined. Together with a gifted but reckless military commander, a factory worker drafted as cannon fodder, a wild and beautiful gunfighter, and a brilliant scientist with nothing to lose—they must find a way to turn back the coming invasion, or see their home finally and completely destroyed.

Nowhere Land


  • Author : A.W. Hill
  • Publisher : Counterpoint
  • Release : 2009-06-01
  • ISBN : 9781582439891
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

After a young member of the Jehovah’s Witness Church is abducted in conjunction with a ritualistic triple homicide in the mountains outside of Los Angeles, the church engages cult specialist Stephan Raszer to find her perilous trail. Based on evidence that the girl may have been trafficked into a sex and terrorism ring with a Middle Eastern nexus, Raszer soon unveils an inside-out reality that begins on the Internet and ends in a fabled fortress on the borderlands of Turkey, Iran, and Iraq, where a powerful figure known only as the Old Man is said to hold the strings. With the dubious aid of the abductee’s wayward sister, along with a renegade CIA agent and a fraternity of sojourning gamesters, Raszer journeys far from the rational world and deep into a dangerous and erotically charged netherland. Piece by piece, he gathers evidence of a world-altering criminal conspiracy linked to an ancient Persian sect that uses an Internet role-playing game to recruit its foot soldiers. To solve the puzzle and find the girl, Stephan Raszer must play the game and try to hold on to his soul and his sanity in a world turned on its head.

The Ninth


  • Author : Harvey Sachs
  • Publisher : Random House Incorporated
  • Release : 2011-11
  • ISBN : 0812969073
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

An analysis of Beethoven's seminal Ninth Symphony identifies it as a key cultural event that reflected major social upheavals, from the emergence of a dynamic Western world and changes in philosophical perspectives on individuality. Reprint.

Herodotus: The Seventh, Eighth, and Ninth Books


  • Author : Herodotus
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release : 2010-01-17
  • ISBN : 1108009697
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

This 1908 edition of the last books of Herodotus is particularly valuable for its introduction, commentary, maps, appendices and indexes.

March the Ninth


  • Author : R.C. Hutchinson
  • Publisher : A&C Black
  • Release : 2013-11-14
  • ISBN : 144821338X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Eugen Reichenbach, a 35 year old doctor, born and brought up in Austria, fled with his family to America before WWII erupted. Although he has a comfortable life and a successful career at the Yale School of Medicine, his double identity makes him restless and uneasy. His European roots, which he tries to forget and bury, make him feel forlorn. After the death of his mother he travels to Triest with the World Universities Relief Organization; there he lands a bureaucratic and unproductive job as an adviser for Health and Nutritional Co-ordination. But in a city torn between Italy and Tito's republic, far from being peaceful or content with the war settlement, the idleness of his new existence strikes him as unsatisfying and inadequate. An unexpected meeting with his childhood friend, Kurt Wenzel, who re-awakens Eugen's youthful idealism, leads to a series of events which will change his tranquil existence. March the Ninth, first published in 1957, explores the problems of identity, loyalty and guilt that arise in a post-war reality, where integrity and morals are difficult to define.

The Forgotten Ninth Amendment


  • Author : Bennett B. Patterson
  • Publisher : The Lawbook Exchange, Ltd.
  • Release : 2007-06-01
  • ISBN : 1584778202
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Ninth Life


  • Author : Elizabeth Ferrars
  • Publisher : Orion
  • Release : 2014-03-14
  • ISBN : 1471907155
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

When Caroline leaves hospital her sister Fenella insists that she must convalesce in her house in the West Country. But, in the event, Caroline's visit is far from restful. Fenella's husband is moody, excitable, reckless and inexplicably affluent, and soon the brooding atmosphere explodes into violence and murder . . . 'Her great virtue, exceeding even her meatily logical plotting and gift of hitting often on really intriguing situations, is her portrayal of people' The Times

The Ninth Sabbat


  • Author : Richard Haddock
  • Publisher : iUniverse
  • Release : 2001-01
  • ISBN : 0595209572
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

All DC police sergeant Mike Wesley wants to do is coast through his last year before retiring, but when he is assigned a 21 year old female rookie to "mentor", she turns their first murder case into a serial killer scenario that covers 20 years and scores of Satanic-type murders. When his partner targets a local businessman as a suspect, Wesley is caught between his quest for the truth and his Captain's orders to squelch the investigation. As they shadow the suspect, Wesley discovers an even greater scope to the murders than his partner had imagined. When he bypasses his Captain and goes to the FBI, Wesley discovers the impact of high-level politics on law enforcement, the pervasiveness of Satanic cult behavior, and uncovers the shocking truth behind "the crime of the century." Will you believe what the story suggets, a crime so staggering as to defy belief, or is this just another clever horror story? There's only one way to find out.

The Literary World


  • Author : N.A
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 1892
  • ISBN :
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Sergeant Lamb of the Ninth


  • Author : Robert Graves
  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • Release : 2012-01-26
  • ISBN : 0141970979
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Robert Graves first came across the name of Roger Lamb in 1914, when Graves was an English officer instructing his platoon in regimental history. Lamb was a British soldier who had served his king during the American War of Independence, and whose claim to a footnote in history is that he managed to escape twice from American prison camps. When Graves went to America in the 1930s, he remembered Sergeant Lamb, investigated his story and created this fictionalized memoir telling Lamb's story from his Irish childhood to war and revolution, weaving a mesmerizing tale of courage and adventure.