Reality Through the Arts


  • Author : Dennis J. Sporre
  • Publisher : Prentice Hall
  • Release : 2013
  • ISBN : 9780205858224
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

" ... provides both a topical and chronological approach to the humanities. Part I, "The Media of the Arts," offers independent chapters on two dimensional art (drawing, painting, printmaking, and photography), sculpture, architecture, music, literature, theatre, cinema, and dance. Part II, "The Styles of the Arts," is a chronological history of the arts of Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East, organized by artistic discipline and focusing on styles rather than encyclopedic detail."--Publisher.

Reality Through the Arts


  • Author : Dennis J. Sporre
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2002
  • ISBN : 9780536683496
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The Reality Bubble


  • Author : Ziya Tong
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Release : 2019-10-03
  • ISBN : 1838850503
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

What are we not seeing? Our naked eyes see only a thin sliver of reality. We are blind in comparison to the X-rays that peer through skin, and the animals that can see in infrared or ultraviolet or with 360-degree vision. In The Reality Bubble, Ziya Tong illuminates this hidden world and takes us on a journey to examine ten of humanity’s biggest blind spots. What she reveals is not on the things we didn’t evolve to see but, more dangerously, the blindness of modern society. Fast-paced, utterly fascinating and deeply humane, this vitally important book gives voice to the sense we’ve all had – that there is more to the world than meets the eye.

Life: The Movie


  • Author : Neal Gabler
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 2011-04-27
  • ISBN : 0307773256
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The story of how our bottomless appetite for novelty, gossip, and melodrama has turned everything—news, politics, religion, high culture—into one vast public entertainment. Neal Gabler calls them "lifies," those blockbusters written in the medium of life that dominate the media and the national conversation for weeks, months, even years: the death of Princess Diana, the trial of O.J. Simpson, Kenneth Starr vs. William Jefferson Clinton. Real Life as Entertainment is hardly a new phenomenon, but the movies, and now the new information technologies, have so accelerated it that it is now the reigning popular art form. How this came to pass, and just what it means for our culture and our personal lives, is the subject of this witty, concerned, and sometimes eye-opening book. "A thoughtful, in places chilling, account of the way entertainment values have hollowed out American life." --The New York Times Book Review

Digital Bodies


  • Author : Susan Broadhurst,Sara Price
  • Publisher : Springer
  • Release : 2017-10-12
  • ISBN : 1349952419
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

​This book explores technologies related to bodily interaction and creativity from a multi-disciplinary perspective. By taking such an approach, the collection offers a comprehensive view of digital technology research that both extends our notions of the body and creativity through a digital lens, and informs of the role of technology in practices central to the arts and humanities. Crucially, Digital Bodies foregrounds creativity, the interrogation of technologies and the notion of embodiment within the various disciplines of art, design, performance and social science. In doing so, it explores a potential or virtual new sense of the embodied self. This book will appeal to academics, practitioners and those with an interest in not only how digital technologies affect the body, but also how they can enhance human creativity.

Reality TV


  • Author : Misha Kavka
  • Publisher : Edinburgh University Press
  • Release : 2012-02-15
  • ISBN : 0748654356
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

This book is a study of the 'Reality TV' format which, in less than a decade, has transformed network programming schedules, branded satellite and digital stations, become a favourite target for anti-television campaigners, and turned viewers into savvy r

Vibrational Art - A Tool for Creating Your Reality


  • Author : Jasnica Klara Matic
  • Publisher : Austin Macauley
  • Release : 2020-05-29
  • ISBN : 9781645753049
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

This book is about how each of us has the potential for creating their own life. To use this power, we have to be conscious that it exists, and to reach what we want to create, we have to know how to do that. This does not mean that we have to learn how to create, but this means we have to learn how to not block ourselves in creation. This is because all of the information on how to create life is inscribed in our DNA and we only need to be free of the beliefs and mental patterns which prevent us to reach them. To become a creator, we have to understand what our life in fact is. We have to accept that it is just an energy flow and that we are the energy forms like every other thing that exists. Each energy form acts in accordance with the energy laws that govern the entire universe. The same energy flows through us and through the entire universe. Everything is connected and united. Change in the smallest thing affects everything. This book is a tool because it explains to you the basics of energy in a humorous and easy way. There is no need to have a preliminary knowledge to understand what is written here. It also gives you simple methods for removing blockages which prevent you in creation. These methods have different names in different cultures, but their content everywhere is the same. My vibrational reliefs are an additional tool for helping you to become a successful creator. They influence you at an unconscious level by showing you the ideal state of being you have to reach to become a creator.

Reality Mining


  • Author : Nathan Eagle,Kate Greene
  • Publisher : MIT Press
  • Release : 2014-08-08
  • ISBN : 0262324571
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A look at how Big Data can be put to positive use, from helping users break bad habits to tracking the global spread of disease. Big Data is made up of lots of little data: numbers entered into cell phones, addresses entered into GPS devices, visits to websites, online purchases, ATM transactions, and any other activity that leaves a digital trail. Although the abuse of Big Data—surveillance, spying, hacking—has made headlines, it shouldn't overshadow the abundant positive applications of Big Data. In Reality Mining, Nathan Eagle and Kate Greene cut through the hype and the headlines to explore the positive potential of Big Data, showing the ways in which the analysis of Big Data (“Reality Mining”) can be used to improve human systems as varied as political polling and disease tracking, while considering user privacy. Eagle, a recognized expert in the field, and Greene, an experienced technology journalist, describe Reality Mining at five different levels: the individual, the neighborhood and organization, the city, the nation, and the world. For each level, they first offer a nontechnical explanation of data collection methods and then describe applications and systems that have been or could be built. These include a mobile app that helps smokers quit smoking; a workplace “knowledge system”; the use of GPS, Wi-Fi, and mobile phone data to manage and predict traffic flows; and the analysis of social media to track the spread of disease. Eagle and Greene argue that Big Data, used respectfully and responsibly, can help people live better, healthier, and happier lives.

Reality TV


  • Author : Susan Murray,Laurie Ouellette
  • Publisher : NYU Press
  • Release : 2009
  • ISBN : 0814757340
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A collection of essays, which provide a comprehensive picture of how and why the genre of reality television emerged, what it means, how it differs from earlier television programming, and how it engages societies, industries, and individuals.

Arts & Entertainments


  • Author : Christopher Beha
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 2014-07-01
  • ISBN : 0062322478
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Christopher Beha delivers a cutting send-up of our cultural obsession with celebrity—a deliciously witty, and ultimately tender, novel about the absurdity of fame and the complexity of love sure to appeal to fans of Maria Semple and Jess Walter. A sharp-edged satire with heart, Arts & Entertainments is the story of Handsome Eddie Hartley who, at thirty-three, has forgone dreams of an acting career for the reality of life as a drama teacher at a boys’ prep school. But when Eddie and his wife, Susan, discover they cannot have children, it is one disappointment too many. Weighted down with debt, his wife’s mounting unhappiness, and his own deepening sense of failure, Eddie is confronted with an alluring solution when an old friend-turned-web-impresario suggests Eddie sell a sex tape he made with an ex-girlfriend, now a wildly popular television star. Overcoming his initial moral qualms, Eddie figures that in an era when any publicity is good publicity, the tape won’t cause any harm—a decision that will have disastrous consequences and propel him straight into the glaring spotlight he once thought he craved. A hilariously biting and incisive take-down of our culture’s monstrous obsession with fame, Arts & Entertainments is also a poignant and humane portrait of a young man’s belated coming-of-age, the complications of love, and the surprising ways in which the most meaningful lives often turn out to be the ones we least expected to lead.