Schools Without Failure


  • Author : William Glasser
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 1975
  • ISBN :
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Schools Without Fail


  • Author : William Glasser
  • Publisher : Harper Perennial
  • Release : 1975-06-25
  • ISBN :
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Arguing that many present educational practices cause student failure, the author presents a positive, specific program to increase success mentally and psychologically

Schools Without Fail


  • Author : William Glasser, M.D.
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 2011-02-01
  • ISBN : 0062046950
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The author of the bestselling Reality Therapy offers daring recommendations to "shake up educators" (Alexander Bassin).

Successful Failure


  • Author : Herve Varenne
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 2018-03-08
  • ISBN : 0429976682
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

In this controversial work, Herv Varenne and Ray McDermott explore education as cultural phenomenona construct of artifice and reality we impose upon ourselves. Questioning how the American education system defines and measures success and failure, Successful Failure is a must-read for anyone interested in educational reform, the American educational system, and the anthropology of education. }In this controversial work, Herv Varenne and Ray McDermott explore education as cultural phenomenona construct of artifice and reality we impose upon ourselves. The authors discuss in five case studies how the American education system defines and measures success and failure, why there is polarization between suburban schools and urban schools, and what about our system leads us to focus on the negative. Their exploration focuses not on the people or the activities of the system, but on the institutions themselves: who decided what was a success or failure? How was the identification done, and with what consequences?This important and timely book is a must-read for anyone interested in educational reform, the American educational system, and the anthropology of education.

Schools Betrayed


  • Author : Kathryn M. Neckerman
  • Publisher : University of Chicago Press
  • Release : 2008-09-15
  • ISBN : 0226569624
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The problems commonly associated with inner-city schools were not nearly as pervasive a century ago, when black children in most northern cities attended school alongside white children. In Schools Betrayed, her innovative history of race and urban education, Kathryn M. Neckerman tells the story of how and why these schools came to serve black children so much worse than their white counterparts. Focusing on Chicago public schools between 1900 and 1960, Neckerman compares the circumstances of blacks and white immigrants, groups that had similarly little wealth and status yet came to gain vastly different benefits from their education. Their divergent educational outcomes, she contends, stemmed from Chicago officials’ decision to deal with rising African American migration by segregating schools and denying black students equal resources. And it deepened, she shows, because of techniques for managing academic failure that only reinforced inequality. Ultimately, these tactics eroded the legitimacy of the schools in Chicago’s black community, leaving educators unable to help their most disadvantaged students. Schools Betrayed will be required reading for anyone who cares about urban education.

Preventing Early Learning Failure


  • Author : Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development
  • Publisher : ASCD
  • Release : 2001
  • ISBN : 0871205106
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Examines issues related to early learning failure, describes practices that can help children find success in school, and looks at programs of prevention and intervention.

How Children Fail


  • Author : John Caldwell Holt
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 1990-01
  • ISBN : 9780140135565
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Earlier barcode was 0140225714.

The Gift of Failure


  • Author : Jessica Lahey
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 2015-08-11
  • ISBN : 0062299247
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In the tradition of Paul Tough’s How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel’s The Blessing of a Skinned Knee, this groundbreaking manifesto focuses on the critical school years when parents must learn to allow their children to experience the disappointment and frustration that occur from life’s inevitable problems so that they can grow up to be successful, resilient, and self-reliant adults. Modern parenting is defined by an unprecedented level of overprotectiveness: parents who rush to school at the whim of a phone call to deliver forgotten assignments, who challenge teachers on report card disappointments, mastermind children’s friendships, and interfere on the playing field. As teacher and writer Jessica Lahey explains, even though these parents see themselves as being highly responsive to their children’s well being, they aren’t giving them the chance to experience failure—or the opportunity to learn to solve their own problems. Overparenting has the potential to ruin a child’s confidence and undermine their education, Lahey reminds us. Teachers don’t just teach reading, writing, and arithmetic. They teach responsibility, organization, manners, restraint, and foresight—important life skills children carry with them long after they leave the classroom. Providing a path toward solutions, Lahey lays out a blueprint with targeted advice for handling homework, report cards, social dynamics, and sports. Most importantly, she sets forth a plan to help parents learn to step back and embrace their children’s failures. Hard-hitting yet warm and wise, The Gift of Failure is essential reading for parents, educators, and psychologists nationwide who want to help children succeed.

Chicano School Failure and Success


  • Author : Richard R. Valencia
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 2004-08-02
  • ISBN : 1134516436
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

First published in 1991. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Encyclopedia of Counseling


  • Author : Howard Rosenthal
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 2017-04-21
  • ISBN : 1317370295
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

With more questions and answers than any other edition, the Encyclopedia of Counseling, Fourth Edition, is still the only book you need to pass the NCE, CPCE, and other counseling exams. Every chapter has new and updated material and is still written in Dr. Rosenthal's lively, user-friendly style counselors know and love. The book’s new and improved coverage incorporates a range of vital topics, including social media, group work in career counseling, private practice and nonprofit work, addictions, neurocounseling, research trends, the DSM-5, the new ACA and NBCC codes of ethics, and much, much more.