Stray


  • Author : Stephanie Danler
  • Publisher : Knopf
  • Release : 2020-05-19
  • ISBN : 1101875976
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

From the bestselling author of Sweetbitter, a memoir of growing up in a family shattered by lies and addiction, and of one woman's attempts to find a life beyond the limits of her past. Stray is a moving, sometimes devastating, brilliantly written and ultimately inspiring exploration of the landscapes of damage and survival. After selling her first novel--a dream she'd worked long and hard for--Stephanie Danler knew she should be happy. Instead, she found herself driven to face the difficult past she'd left behind a decade ago: a mother disabled by years of alcoholism, further handicapped by a tragic brain aneurysm; a father who abandoned the family when she was three, now a meth addict in and out of recovery. After years in New York City she's pulled home to Southern California by forces she doesn't totally understand, haunted by questions of legacy and trauma. Here, she works toward answers, uncovering hard truths about her parents and herself as she explores whether it's possible to change the course of her history. Lucid and honest, heart-breaking and full of hope, Stray is an examination of what we inherit and what we don't have to, of what we have to face in ourselves to move forward, and what it's like to let go of one's parents in order to find peace--and a family--of one's own.

Stray


  • Author : Monica Hesse
  • Publisher : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 2018-06-12
  • ISBN : 031634351X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Perfect for fans of Black Mirror and Warcross, this suspenseful novel asks what it means to live a life that isn't your own. Lona Sixteen Always has spent most of her life as someone else. Part of a unique virtual reality experiment for troubled kids who have been "rescued" by the government, she spends twenty-three hours a day on the Path, reliving the decades-old, perfectly ordinary memories of a perfectly ordinary boy. Any other life is unimaginable--until one day someone appears on Lona's screen who doesn't belong. Fenn, a boy from her past, has returned to set her free. Lona is wrenched brutally into an existence that is suddenly all her own, one that promises liberty and love, but also holds threatening secrets. And it turns out that there is a heavy price to pay for straying from her assigned path. In Stray, Edgar-award winning master of suspense Monica Hesse brings us a richly imagined speculative world where there are no easy answers--and no easy way out. *This ebook includes bonus excerpts from Monica Hesse's historical fiction novels Girl in the Blue Coat and The War Outside.

Stray


  • Author : Rachel Vincent
  • Publisher : MIRA
  • Release : 2016-03-14
  • ISBN : 1459296508
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

"Compelling and edgy, dark and evocative, Stray is a must read! I loved it from beginning to end." —New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter STRAY is New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent first book in her acclaimed Shifter series. I look like an allAmerican grad student. But I am a werecat, a shapeshifter, and I live in two worlds. Despite reservations from my family and my Pride, I escaped the pressure to continue my species and carved out a normal life for myself. Until the night a Stray attacked. I'd been warned about Strays—werecats without a Pride—constantly on the lookout for someone like me: attractive, female and fertile. I fought him off, but then learned two of my fellow tabbies had disappeared. This brush with danger was all my Pride needed to summon me back…for my own protection. Yeah, right. But I'm no meek kitty. I'll take on whatever—and whoever—I have to in order to find my friends. Watch out, Strays—'cause I got claws, and I'm not afraid to use them… More Praise: "Well written, fresh, charming, great voice —Buffy meets Cat People. I loved it, and look forward to much more in the future from this talented author." —New York Times bestselling author Heather Graham "Rachel Vincent is a new author that I'm going to be watching." —New York Times bestselling author Kim Harrison "A highoctane plot with characters you can really care about. Vincent is a welcome addition to the genre!" —Kelley Armstrong, author of the Women of the Otherworld series Previously Published.

Stray Dog Story


  • Author : Robert Chesley
  • Publisher : TnT Classic Books
  • Release : 1984
  • ISBN : 9780935672114
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Stray Leaves


  • Author : Roger Blackley
  • Publisher : Victoria University Press
  • Release : 2001
  • ISBN : 9780864734075
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

This book reveals a fascinating and little-known form of colonial still-life painting -- trompe I'oeil, or illusionistic watercolors that represent the trivia of everyday life through apparently casual arrangements of objects arrayed on tables or desktops and reproduced as realistically as possible. The variety of objects ranged from newspapers, playing cards, pens, and rulers to coins, banknotes, and even a lit cigar. Although the paintings were toured and exhibited in colonial times, they are little known today. Ten surviving examples from art galleries in New Zealand and Australia are reproduced in this book.

Electron Dev & Cir-Prin & App


  • Author : Deshpande
  • Publisher : Tata McGraw-Hill Education
  • Release : 2008-01-07
  • ISBN : 9780070617117
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The book provides elementary treatment on construction, functioning, characteristics and applications of semiconductor devices. The treatment emphasizes on developing clear understanding of the device functionality.

No Longer a Stray


  • Author : Terry Deffenbaugh
  • Publisher : Scepter Publishers
  • Release : 2005
  • ISBN : 9781594170058
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Fr. Terry Deffenbaugh, OSA, has worked with young people for many years, through his work counseling and giving retreats.This book will grab the imagination of many young people, as well as adults who are young at heart. They will become good friends of Christ and embrace his mission and make it their own. They will be surprised and hurt by those who oppose Christ, horrified by his passion and death. But they will begin to understand the redemptive meaning of Christ's love and sacrifice, to appreciate the meaning and value of suffering, and then to read the Gospel.

A Stray


  • Author : Michael Wang
  • Publisher : Marshall Cavendish International Asia Pte Ltd
  • Release : 2016-07-15
  • ISBN : 9814751758
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A Stray is a story about Myra-Lou who longs to have a stray cat for a pet. Her parents are appalled and her brother is disgusted. But Myra-Lou is insistent. After much haggling and a twist of fortune, Myra-Lou finally gets her stray. This is a story that deals with the irrational attachment that children can have over a dream or an object, and the extent that a family would go to to reach a compromise without abandoning their principles.

Neither Waif Nor Stray


  • Author : Perry Allan Snow
  • Publisher : Universal-Publishers
  • Release : 2000
  • ISBN : 9781581127584
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The author's father, Frederick George Snow (1909-1994), became a ward of the Church of England Society for Providing Homes for Waifs and Strays when he was four years old in 1913. He was sent from England to Canada as one of the "Home Children" when he was fifteen. This book contains the author's search for his father's identity and family in England as well as information on the British child emigration system between 1880 and 1930.

Stray


  • Author : Vicky Allan
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release : 2000
  • ISBN : 1841152528
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

What would you do if you had to choose between your man and your cat? 'If you were an animal, what kind of animal would you be?' Milla asks her bestfriend Gabriel. Milla would be a cat and Gabriel a bird. That's no surprise, as Milla is a cat therapist. Gabriel is also in love with her. Unaware of this, Milla begins an affair with Josh, a dentist. All goes well until Milla adopts a stray cat, a spooky albino who starts to drive a wedge between her and Josh. When Milla finds she must choose between her man and her cat, the choice she makes has horrifying consequences. For the stray is no ordinary domestic pet, and Milla, it turns out, is no ordinary woman. Inexorably the disturbed workings of Milla's mind draws her into a strange world. Girl-meets-boy domesticity is replaced by the cold drip of animal fear. The unbelievable becomes reality. And the shocking, horrifying conclusion is the only escape.