The Eighth Sister


  • Author : Robert Dugoni
  • Publisher : Center Point
  • Release : 2019
  • ISBN : 9781643582146
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

"Originally published in the United States by Amazon Publishing, 2019"--Title page verso.

The Eighth Sister


  • Author : Robert Dugoni
  • Publisher : Thomas & Mercer
  • Release : 2019-04-09
  • ISBN : 9781503903036
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A pulse-pounding thriller of espionage, spy games, and treachery by the New York Times bestselling author of the Tracy Crosswhite Series. Former CIA case officer Charles Jenkins is a man at a crossroads: in his early sixties, he has a family, a new baby on the way, and a security consulting business on the brink of bankruptcy. Then his former bureau chief shows up at his house with a risky new assignment: travel undercover to Moscow and locate a Russian agent believed to be killing members of a clandestine US spy cell known as the seven sisters. Desperate for money, Jenkins agrees to the mission and heads to the Russian capital. But when he finds the mastermind agent behind the assassinations--the so-called eighth sister--she is not who or what he was led to believe. Then again, neither is anyone else in this deadly game of cat and mouse. Pursued by a dogged Russian intelligence officer, Jenkins executes a daring escape across the Black Sea, only to find himself abandoned by the agency he serves. With his family and freedom at risk, Jenkins is in the fight of his life--against his own country.

The Eighth Sister. Con CD Audio


  • Author : Victoria Heward
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2015
  • ISBN : 9788853015136
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

"Eighth Sister No More"


  • Author : Paul P. Marthers
  • Publisher : Peter Lang
  • Release : 2010
  • ISBN : 9781433112201
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

When founded in 1911, Connecticut College for Women was a pioneering women's college that sought to prepare the progressive era's «new woman» to be self-sufficient. Despite a path-breaking emphasis on preparation for work in the new fields opening to women, Connecticut College and its peers have been overlooked by historians of women's higher education. This book makes the case for the significance of Connecticut College's birth and evolution, and contextualizes the college in the history of women's education. «Eighth Sister No More» examines Connecticut College for Women's founding mission and vision, revealing how its grassroots founding to provide educational opportunity for women was altered by coeducation; how the college has been shaped by changes in thinking about women's roles and alterations in curricular emphasis; and the role local community ties played at the college's point of origin and during the recent presidency of Claire Gaudiani, the only alumna to lead the college. Examining Connecticut College's founding in the context of its evolution illustrates how founding mission and vision inform the way colleges describe what they are and do, and whether there are essential elements of founding mission and vision that must be remembered or preserved. Drawing on archival research, oral history interviews, and seminal works on higher education history and women's history, «Eighth Sister No More» provides an illuminating view into the liberal arts segment of American higher education.

Diary of Thoughts


  • Author : Summary Express
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2019-07-13
  • ISBN : 9781080380459
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Diary of Thoughts: The Eighth Sister by Robert Dugoni - A Journal for Your Thoughts About the Book is a journal designed for note-taking, designed and produced by Summary Express. With blank, lined pages in a simplistic yet elegant design, this journal is perfect for recording notes, thoughts, opinions, and takeaways in real-time as you read. Divided into sections and parts for easy reference, this journal helps you keep your thoughts organized. Disclaimer Notice: This is a unofficial journal book and not the original book.

The Other Boleyn Girl (Movie Tie-In)


  • Author : Philippa Gregory
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 2008-01-22
  • ISBN : 1416560602
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The daughters of a ruthlessly ambitious family, Mary and Anne Boleyn are sent to the court of Henry VIII to attract the attention of the king, who first takes Mary as his mistress, in which role she bears him an illegitimate son, and then Anne as his wife. Reprint. 250,000 first printing. (A Columbia Pictures film, written by Peter Morgan, directed by Justin Chadwick, releasing Fall 2007, starring Natalie Portman, Scarlett Johansson, Eric Bana, and others) (Historical Fiction)

Ramona's World


  • Author : Beverly Cleary
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press, USA
  • Release : 2000
  • ISBN : 9780192750860
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The latest book in the hugely popular series about Ramona Quimby. Ramona is just starting the fourth grade and believes this will be 'the best year of her life, so far.' As well as her older sister, Beezus, Ramona now has a new baby sister, Roberta. But best of all, she has a new best friend, Daisy. Beverly Cleary is one of America's most popular authors and has won many prestigious awards, including the American Library Association's Laura Ingalls Wilder Award. This new Ramona book is being published alongside the first two Ramona books, Beezus and Ramona and Ramona the Pest. The rest of Beverly Cleary's Ramona books will also be published in the near future.

The Eighth Life


  • Author : Nino Haratischvili
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2020-09-10
  • ISBN : 9781913348298
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The international sensation that UK booksellers are calling this generation's War and Peace. At the start of the twentieth century, on the edge of the Russian Empire, a family prospers, thanks to a magical recipe for hot chocolate that bewitches its drinkers. But this chocolate carries a bitter -- some say cursed -- aftertaste ... Tumbling through the years, across vast expanses of longing and loss, we witness generation after generation of this remarkable family as they struggle and thrive, divide and reunite, and live and die in the red century.

Once More We Saw Stars


  • Author : Jayson Greene
  • Publisher : Knopf
  • Release : 2019
  • ISBN : 1524733539
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

"A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss." --Cheryl Strayed For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief. As the book opens: two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. A brick crumbles from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious, and she is immediately rushed to the hospital. But although it begins with this event and with the anguish Jayson and his wife, Stacy, confront in the wake of their daughter's trauma and the hours leading up to her death, Once More We Saw Stars quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it--that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survive what seems unsurvivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation--and a book that will change the way you look at the world.

Touch


  • Author : Adania Shibli
  • Publisher : Interlink Publishing
  • Release : 2013-11-10
  • ISBN : 1623710456
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Touch centers on a girl, the youngest of nine sisters in a Palestinian family. In the singular world of this novella, this young woman’s everyday experiences—watching a funeral procession, fighting with her siblings, learning to read, perhaps falling in love—resonate until they have become as weighty as any national tragedy. The smallest sensations compel, the events of history only lurk at the edges—the question of Palestine, the massacre at Sabra and Shatila. In a language that feels at once natural and alienated, Shibli breaks with the traditions of modern Arabic fiction, creating a work that has been and will continue to be hailed across literatures. Here every ordinary word, ordinary action is a small stone dropped into water: of inevitable consequence. We find ourselves mesmerized one quiet ripple at a time.