• Author : Kristina the Girl King
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release Date : 2003
  • Pages : 170
  • ISBN : 0439249767
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

A novel in diary form about Kristina, the young queen of Sweden.


  • Author : Christina the Girl King
  • Publisher : Talon Books
  • Release Date : 2014
  • Pages : 78
  • ISBN : 0889228981
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Governor General's Literary Award, Translation: Michel Marc Bouchard, Christina, The Girl King, translated by Linda Gaboriau (Finalist) Enigmatic, flamboyant, and unpredictable, with a passion for philosophy and the arts, Sweden's Queen Christina seeks to make her country the most sophisticated in Europe. But her personal aspirations - and her unconventional sexuality - put her profoundly at odds with her culture's expectations of her, both as a monarch and as a woman. She was Sweden's Elizabeth Rex.


  • Author : The Girl King
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release Date : 2019-01-08
  • Pages : 496
  • ISBN : 9781681198903
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

“Absolutely fantastic.” -Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series “Heart-pounding.” -Buzzfeed * “Masterful.” -School Library Journal, starred review In this dark, sweeping fantasy perfect for fans of Girls of Paper and Fire and Wicked Saints, Princesses Lu and Min find themselves on opposite sides of a war to rule their Empire. Sisters Lu and Min have always known their places as the princesses of the Empire of the First Flame: assertive Lu will be named her father's heir and become the dynasty's first female ruler, while timid Min will lead a quiet life in Lu's shadow. Until their father names a new heir--their male cousin, Set. Determined to reclaim her birthright, Lu goes in search of allies, leaving Min to face the volatile court alone. Lu soon crosses paths with Nokhai, the lone, unlikely survivor of the Ashina, a clan of nomadic wolf shapeshifters. Nok never learned to shift--or to trust the empire that killed his family--but working with the princess might be the only way to unlock his true power. As Lu and Nok form a tenuous alliance, Min's own hidden power awakens, a forbidden, deadly magic that could secure Set's reign . . . or allow her to claim the throne herself. But there can only be one emperor, and the sisters' greatest enemy could very well turn out to be each other. This sweeping fantasy set against a world of ancient magic and political intrigue weaves an unforgettable story of ambition, betrayal, and sacrifice.


  • Author : The Girl King
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2011-03-03
  • Pages : 336
  • ISBN : 9781409021711
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

'It is as if Henry VIII, Mary and Elizabeth were combined into one character, and unleashed for the first time: so much more fun than another Boleyn book' - Independent 'Compelling, exotic and fast-paced: a wonderful story of love and death that transports you into a forgotten world' - Vanora Bennett 'Speedy, gripping, historical fiction' - Marie Claire 'Clothier has a good story, a vigorous style and well-turned phrase' - Times Literary Suppl


  • Author : King Tut and the Girl Who Loved Him
  • Publisher : iUniverse
  • Release Date : 2007-06-14
  • Pages : 208
  • ISBN : 9780595863419
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Brimming with vivid historical detail, King Tut and the Girl Who Loved Him is a thrilling tale of a modern teenager catapulted into the glory and intrigue of Egypt's 18th Dynasty. Johanna Wilson is a quick-thinking fifteen-year-old with a penchant for falling into trouble and digging her way out again. After a rough day at school, Johanna comes home, eager for a nice, relaxing evening. But while reading a book on ancient Egypt, she's suddenly "misplaced" from her apartment in twenty-first century Miami to Egypt's 18th Dynasty. A few strange twists of fate later, Johanna is masquerading as Princess Johenaten, cousin to Pharaoh Tutankhamun and member of Egypt's royal family. Completely dependent on the pharaoh for her safety and comfort, she also knows from her high school history class that the king will die soon. And when he does, her life will be in jeopardy. Johanna's search for answers to the pharaoh's fate takes her on a dangerous journey into the inner circle of the most powerful kingdom on Earth. Surrounded by treachery and deceit, Johanna vows to uncover the threat to Pharaoh Tutankhamun's life, scarcely realizing how her actions will change the lives of those around her-and the course of history.


  • Author : The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2017-04-25
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN : 9781501157516
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

A frightening suspense novel about nine-year-old Trisha, who becomes lost in the woods as night falls.


  • Author : Theory and Practice of Early Reading
  • Publisher : Psychology Press
  • Release Date : 1979
  • Pages : 400
  • ISBN : 0898590116
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

First published in 1979. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.


  • Author : Revisiting Stephen King
  • Publisher : Greenwood Publishing Group
  • Release Date : 2002
  • Pages : 171
  • ISBN : 0313317887
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Offers an examination of the works of the American horror writer.


  • Author : Bat Masterson
  • Publisher : University of Oklahoma Press
  • Release Date : 2014-04-14
  • Pages : 456
  • ISBN : 9780806186986
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

The colorful figures of the western American frontier, the Indian fighters, the mountain men, the outlaws, and the lawmen, have been romanticized for more than a hundred years by writers who found it easier to invent history than the research it. "Bat" Masterson was one such character who cast a long shadow across the pages of western history as it has been routinely depicted. "A legend in his own time," he was called in a television series produced in the 1960's. A legend he has become—one firmly fixed in the popular imagination. But in his own time W.B. Masterson was a man, a less-than-perfect creature subject to the same temptations and vices as his fellows, albeit one who, through circumstance and inclination, led an exciting life in an exciting time and place. As buffalo hunter, army scout, peace officer, professional gambler, sportsman, promoter, and newspaperman, Masterson's career was stormy and eventful. Surprising to many readers will be the account of Masterson's career after his peace officer days, during his employment as a sports writer and columnist. The gun-toting western peace officer reputed to have killed more men than Billy the Kid (not so, says DeArment) spent his last years happily in New York City, writing for a nationally known newspaper. This book, the product of more than twenty years of research, separates fact from fiction to extricate the story of his life from the legend that has enmeshed it. It is the most complete biography of Bat Masterson ever written.


  • Author : For Love of the King
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2014-05-30
  • Pages : 19
  • ISBN : 9781633551886
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

The very interesting and richly coloured masque or pantomimic play which is here printed in book form for the first time, was invented sometime in 1894 or possibly a little earlier. It was written, not for publication, but as a personal gift to the author's friend and friend of his family, Mrs. Chan Toon.