The Good Neighbor


  • Author : Maxwell King
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release : 2018-09-04
  • ISBN : 1683353498
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Fred Rogers (1928–2003) was an enormously influential figure in the history of television and in the lives of tens of millions of children. As the creator and star of Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood, he was a champion of compassion, equality, and kindness. Rogers was fiercely devoted to children and to taking their fears, concerns, and questions about the world seriously. The Good Neighbor, the first full-length biography of Fred Rogers, tells the story of this utterly unique and enduring American icon. Drawing on original interviews, oral histories, and archival documents, Maxwell King traces Rogers’s personal, professional, and artistic life through decades of work, including a surprising decision to walk away from the show to make television for adults, only to return to the neighborhood with increasingly sophisticated episodes, written in collaboration with experts on childhood development. An engaging story, rich in detail, The Good Neighbor is the definitive portrait of a beloved figure, cherished by multiple generations.

The Good Neighbors


  • Author : Kiersten Modglin
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2019-06-19
  • ISBN : 9781074858131
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Good neighbors invite you over for dinner, bring you baked goods to welcome you to the neighborhood, and wave hello at the mailbox. Good neighbors do not destroy your life. When Bryant and Harper Page move to Lancaster Mills, their first encounter with their new neighbors-Jason and Tori Fuller: beautiful, strange, and terrifying-is anything but a warm welcome. Despite their hesitations, the Pages are intrigued by the people they now share a street with. As their curiosity gets the best of them, they discover that there's much more to the Fullers than meets the eye. Their new neighbors have secrets, that much is obvious, but just how dangerous could they be? With two haunting shadows lingering over their house and lives, the Pages' relationship is tested in every way. What exactly makes a good neighbor? And what makes a good neighbor bad?

The Good Neighbor


  • Author : A. J. Banner
  • Publisher : Lake Union Publishing
  • Release : 2015-08-25
  • ISBN : 9781503944435
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

From a phenomenal new voice in suspense fiction comes a book that will forever change the way you look at the people closest to you... Shadow Cove, Washington, is the kind of town everyone dreams about--quaint streets, lush forests, good neighbors. That's what Sarah thinks as she settles into life with her new husband, Dr. Johnny McDonald. But all too soon she discovers an undercurrent of deception. And one October evening when Johnny is away, sudden tragedy destroys Sarah's happiness. Dazed and stricken with grief, she and Johnny begin to rebuild their shattered lives. As she picks up the pieces of her broken home, Sarah discovers a shocking secret that forces her to doubt everything she thought was true--about her neighbors, her friends, and even her marriage. With each stunning revelation, Sarah must ask herself, Can we ever really know the ones we love?

The Good Neighbor


  • Author : Amy Sue Nathan
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Griffin
  • Release : 2015-10-13
  • ISBN : 146684955X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Izzy Lane never thought of herself as a liar. In fact, she's always played by the rules. She's an excellent mother, has loyal friends, and a rich career as a school counselor. Fresh from a new divorce, however, Izzy feels like she needs a little fun. So when, on a whim, she starts a blog it seems like a rather benign indulgence. But as her online quips begin to gain traction, Izzy makes a slip. Somehow a new boyfriend winds his way into the picture. The problem? Izzy makes him up. What, at first, feels like a harmless fib quickly spins out of control and Izzy must figure out how to balance fantasy and reality. Keeping up appearances while managing an absent ex-husband, two very nosy friends, a toddler son, and full-time job soon prove impossible, and Izzy feels utterly lost. It's only when her long-time neighbor and surrogate mother, Mrs. Feldman, re-enters her life that Izzy begins to see the mess she's made. And it's with Mrs. Feldman's guidance that Izzy learns to face reality, find comfort in new norms, and open herself up to the possibility of real love.

A Good Neighborhood


  • Author : Therese Anne Fowler
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 2020-03-10
  • ISBN : 1250237289
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

“A feast of a read... I finished A Good Neighborhood in a single sitting. Yes, it’s that good.” —Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light In Oak Knoll, a verdant, tight-knit North Carolina neighborhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son, Xavier, who’s headed to college in the fall. All is well until the Whitmans—an apparently traditional family with new money and a secretly troubled teenaged daughter—raze the house and trees next door to build themselves a showplace. With little in common except a property line, these two very different families quickly find themselves at odds: first, over an historic oak tree in Valerie's yard, and soon after, the blossoming romance between their two teenagers. A Good Neighborhood asks big questions about life in America today—what does it mean to be a good neighbor? How do we live alongside each other when we don't see eye to eye?—as it explores the effects of class, race, and heartrending love in a story that’s as provocative as it is powerful.

The Good Neighbor


  • Author : George Black
  • Publisher : Pantheon
  • Release : 1988
  • ISBN :
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Looks at the history of U.S. relations with Central America, discusses the political situation, and assesses U.S. foreign policy

Representing the Good Neighbor


  • Author : Carol A. Hess
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release : 2013-06
  • ISBN : 0199919992
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

In this book, Carol A. Hess investigates the reception of Latin American art music in the US during the Pan American movement of the 1930s and 40s. Hess uncovers how and why attitudes towards Latin American music shifted so dramatically during the middle of the twentieth century, and what this tells us about the ways in which the history of American music has been written.

The Good Neighbor Guidebook for Colorado


  • Author : Nancy S. Greif,Erin J. Johnson
  • Publisher : Big Earth Publishing
  • Release : 2000
  • ISBN : 9781555662622
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The West is changing, and these days natives and newcomers alike need a lot of basic information to cope with issues that arise from increasing population and changing land-use regulations on both the local and federal levels.The Good Neighbor Guidebook for Colorado is an essential resource for anyone living in Colorado today. Arising from a seminar organized by the authors in Durango, this valuable collection features articles by some thirty-five expert contributors, ranging from builders to lawyers to land-use specialists and more. The book focuses on land stewardship; basics of Colorado law; working with local governments; issues of recreation, public lands, and tribal lands; protecting our western heritage; and avoiding and resolving problems.In Colorado, at the turn of the 21st century, the trend seems to be away from traditional, strong, relationship-based communities toward pseudo-communities that often are a collection of short-term alliances to fight common enemies. The re-establishment of strong neighbor relationships, with appreciation not only for shared values but for diverse opinions, can reverse this unfortunate trend. The Good Neighbor Guidebook for Colorado offers every citizen the tools to build better communities.

The Good Neighbour


  • Author : Beth Miller
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 2015-09-10
  • ISBN : 1473501121
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Everyone has secrets. How far will you go to protect yours? After living next to the neighbours from hell, Minette is overjoyed when Cath and her two children move in next door. Cath soon becomes her confidante, a kindred spirit, even her daughter’s babysitter. But Cath keeps herself unusually guarded and is reluctant to speak of her past. And when Minette witnesses something unspeakable, she begins to question whether she really knows her new friend at all... An addictive and gripping novel, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Daughter

Imperialism, Media, and the Good Neighbor


  • Author : Fred Fejes
  • Publisher : Praeger
  • Release : 1986
  • ISBN :
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

This study presents an historical account of the expansion of United States interests in Latin American communications in the first half of this cntury. Particular emphasis is placed on how United States shortwave broadcasting was used as a vehicle for the penetration and dominance of Latin American mass communication systems. This penetration is analyzed in relation to the overall context of the goals and activities of the Good Neighbor Policy of Franklin D. Roosevelt. Conversely, with the development of shortwave broadcasting as a tool of foreign policy, there arose the need to restructure the traditional relations between the broadcasting industry and government. This study describes the process by which the American broadcasting industry came to accept government control and dominance in the field of international broadcasting. Finally, this study attempts to show how such an historical account as this can be used to eluciate the notion of media imperialism.