• Author : The Republic of Pirates
  • Publisher : Pan Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2014-01-16
  • Pages : 416
  • ISBN : 9781447246084
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

For fans of Black Sails and Crossbones comes a new history of the Golden Age of Piracy. . . In the early eighteenth century a number of the great pirate captains, including Edward 'Blackbeard' Teach and 'Black Sam' Bellamy, joined forces. This infamous 'Flying Gang' was more than simply a thieving band of brothers. Many of its members had come to piracy as a revolt against conditions in the merchant fleet and in the cities and plantations in the Old and New Worlds. Inspired by notions of self-government, they established a crude but distinctive form of democracy in the Bahamas, carving out their own zone of freedom in which indentured servants were released and leaders chosen or deposed by a vote. They were ultimately overcome by their archnemesis, Captain Woodes Rogers-a merchant fleet owner and former privateer - and the brief but glorious Republic of Pirates came to an end. Meticulously researched and full of incident and adventure, The Republic of Pirates brings to life an extraordinary forgotten chapter of history.


  • Author : Pirates of New Jersey
  • Publisher : Stackpole Books
  • Release Date : 2010
  • Pages : 137
  • ISBN : 9780811706674
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Legendary figures of the Golden Age of Piracy. Stories of great battles. Contains a Glossary of pirate ships and nautical items.


  • Author : Jolly Roger
  • Publisher : Courier Corporation
  • Release Date : 2012-07-12
  • Pages : 294
  • ISBN : 9780486147598
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Fascinating study of 17th- and 18th-century piracy finds the lore about Henry Morgan, Captain Kidd, Blackbeard, Anne Bonney, and other marauders largely overblown. "Highly entertaining and well-documented." — The New York Times. 35 black-and-white illustrations.


  • Author : Black Flags Blue Waters The Epic History of America s Most Notorious Pirates
  • Publisher : Liveright Publishing
  • Release Date : 2018-09-18
  • Pages : 400
  • ISBN : 9781631492112
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

With surprising tales of vicious mutineers, imperial riches, and high-seas intrigue, Black Flags, Blue Waters is “rumbustious enough for the adventure-hungry” (Peter Lewis, San Francisco Chronicle). Set against the backdrop of the Age of Exploration, Black Flags, Blue Waters reveals the surprising history of American piracy’s “Golden Age” - spanning the late 1600s through the early 1700s - when lawless pirates plied the coastal waters of North America and beyond. “Deftly blending scholarship and drama” (Richard Zacks), best-selling author Eric Jay Dolin illustrates how American colonists at first supported these outrageous pirates in an early display of solidarity against the Crown, and then violently opposed them. Through engrossing episodes of roguish glamour and extreme brutality, Dolin depicts the star pirates of this period, among them the towering Blackbeard, the ill-fated Captain Kidd, and sadistic Edward Low, who delighted in torturing his prey. Upending popular misconceptions and cartoonish stereotypes, Black Flags, Blue Waters is a “tour de force history” (Michael Pierce, Midwestern Rewind) of the seafaring outlaws whose raids reflect the precarious nature of American colonial life.


  • Author : THE BOOK OF PIRATES 70 Adventure Classics Legends True History of the Notorious Buccaneers
  • Publisher : e-artnow
  • Release Date : 2017-06-05
  • Pages : 11081
  • ISBN : 9788026877943
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Enjoy the best sea adventures, treasure hunt tales and bloody battles, along with learning the truth behind the legends, the real life stories that inspired so many writers and produced so many beloved classics: History of the Robberies and Murders of the Most Notorious Pirates (Captain Charles Johnson) The Book of Buried Treasure Treasure Island (R. L. Stevenson) Blackbeard: Buccaneer (R. D. Paine) Pieces of Eight (Le Gallienne) Captain Singleton (Defoe) Gold-Bug (Edgar Allan Poe) Hearts of Three (Jack London) The Dark Frigate (C. B. Hawes) Isle of Pirate's Doom (Robert E. Howard) Swords of Red Brotherhood (Howard) Queen of Black Coast (Howard) Barbarossa—King of the Corsairs Black Vulmea (Howard) Afloat and Ashore (James F. Cooper) Homeward Bound (Cooper) Red Rover (Cooper) Facing the Flag (Jules Verne) A Pirate of the Caribbees (H. Collingwood) Pirate Gow (Daniel Defoe) The King of Pirates (Defoe) The Pirate (Walter Scott) Rose of Paradise (Howard Pyle) Captain Sharkey (Arthur Conan Doyle) The Pirate (Frederick Marryat) Three Cutters (Marryat) Madman and the Pirate (R. M. Ballantyne) The Offshore Pirate (F. Scott Fitzgerald) Coral Island (Ballantyne) Under the Waves (Ballantyne) Pirate City (Ballantyne) Captain Boldheart (Dickens) Master Key (L. Frank Baum) A Man to His Mate (J. Allan Dunn) Tales of the Fish Patrol (Jack London) Robinson Crusoe (Defoe) Peter Pan and Wendy (J. M. Barrie) Mysterious Island (Jules Verne) Count of Monte Cristo (Dumas) Ghost Pirates (W. H. Hodgson) The Pirate Island (H. Collingwood) Among Malay Pirates The Capture of Panama, 1671 The Malay Proas (James F. Cooper) The Daughter of the Great Mogul (Defoe) Morgan at Puerto Bello The Ways of the Buccaneers Narrative of the Capture of the Ship Derby, 1735 (Captain Anselm) The Fight Between the Dorrill and the Moca Jaddi the Malay Pirate The Terrible Ladrones The Female Captive The Passing of Mogul Mackenzie Sea-Wolves of the Mediterranean Pirates of Panama ...


  • Author : Pirates in Their Own Words
  • Publisher : Lulu.com
  • Release Date : 2014-07-03
  • Pages : 410
  • ISBN : 9781291938357
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Pirates in Their Own Words is a collection of original documents relating to the 'golden age' of piracy. Letters, testimonies, witness accounts and other primary source documents written by the pirates themselves, their victims, and the men who hunted them down.


  • Author : Pirate Utopias
  • Publisher : Autonomedia
  • Release Date : 2003-01-01
  • Pages : 219
  • ISBN : 9781570271588
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

'Peter Lamborn Wilson shows why we cherish pirates - and why, for the sake of the future, we must continue to do so. Interesting and compelling...a rollicking, adventurous book.'Marcus Rediker, author, Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea'A chronicler, a historiographer, and a piratologist in the tradition of Defoe...with immense learning and interesting sympathies. His scholarship cuts through the seas of ignorance and prejudice with grace and power.'Peter Linebaugh, author, The London Hanged'One of those rare books which give historians new ideas to think about. It deals with 17th century European converts to Islam - usually but not always as pirates - whose numbers Wilson puts at thousands. His careful analysis of (the) renegadoes, their ideas, and political practice leads to a very tentative suggestion that some of them may have links with Rosicrucianism and the 18th-century Enlightenment...Historians will have to think about this book's novel theme and pursue its implications. Wilson really does turn the world upside down!'Christopher Hill, author, The World Turned Upside DownFrom the 16th to the 19th centuries, Muslim corsairs from the Barbary Coast ravaged European shipping and enslaved thousands of unlucky captives. During this same period, thousands more Europeans converted to Islam and joined the pirate holy war. Were these men (and women) the scum of the seas, apostates, traitors -- Renegadoes? Or did they abandon and betray Christendom as a praxis of social resistance?Peter Lamborn Wilson focuses on the corsairs' most impressive accomplishment, the independent Pirate Republic of Salé, in Morocco, in the 17th century. Corsairs, Sufis, pederasts, "irresistible" Moorish women, slaves, adventures, Irish rebels, heretical Jews, British spies, a Moorish pirate in old New York, and radical working-class heroes all populate a book which intends to entertain and to make a point about insurrectionary communities.


  • Author : Maritime Piracy and Its Control An Economic Analysis
  • Publisher : Springer
  • Release Date : 2014-12-15
  • Pages : 135
  • ISBN : 9781137461506
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Maritime Piracy and its Control develops an economic approach to the problem of modern-day maritime piracy with the goal of assessing the effectiveness of remedies aimed at reducing the incidence of piracy.


  • Author : Piracy in the Ancient World
  • Publisher : JHU Press
  • Release Date : 1997
  • Pages : 286
  • ISBN : 0801855055
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

Seaborne brigands were greatly feared in the ancient world. Pirates not only preyed on merchant ships and fishing craft in the Mediterranean but also wreaked havoc on coastal townstaking men, women, and children to ransom or sell as slaves; raiding treasures; and exacting tribute from fearful town leaders. Responding to the threat of piracy, the Greeks established their primary cities inland for protection and even in their North African and Sicilian outposts they left coastal land uncultivated. Mariners feared pirate ships around every promontory and sought protection from the navies of such states as Rhodes and Crete. The Romans were beset in the time of their early Republic by "Tyrreanean" pirates based in the south of Italy and during the last years of the Empire by the Cilician pirates of Asia Minor. When one great pirate, Sextus Pompeiius, was finally suppressed, rather than being punished he was charged with ridding the seas of his former followers. His attempts failed. Now available in paperback, Ormerod's classic Piracy in the Ancient World brings the treachery of the ancient high seas alive. Drawing on the works of Homer and Thucydides and the historical records that have survived from ancient Greece and Rome, Ormerod reconstructs the dangers of coastal living and seafaring and the attempts to protect against the threat of invasion from the seas. He describes the general nature of early piracy, ancient navigation, and the pirate's routines and tactics.


  • Author : Piracy at Sea
  • Publisher : Springer Science & Business Media
  • Release Date : 2013-11-22
  • Pages : 310
  • ISBN : 9783642396205
  • Language : English, Spanish, and French

Book Summary:

​Over more than three decades starting in the 1990s, thousands of robberies, acts of piracy, and other violent attacks against merchant vessels have been reported in many of the world’s waters. The grave danger of piracy poses a direct threat not only to the security and efficiency of marine transportation, but more seriously, to the lives of the men and woman carrying out this important function. This book collates ideas brought up by seafarers, shipowners, industry practitioners, government officials, academics, and researchers exchanged views and insights on the complex web of underlying factors behind the phenomenon of piracy. Piracy at Sea brings together a wide spectrum of maritime stakeholders, who present different aspects of the problem in an open manner and share their thoughts on how to deal with a truly complex situation. It encapsulates this collective wisdom in a publication that can serve as an easy reference for practitioners as well as researchers, and hopefully contribute to more concrete action.​