The Voyeur's Motel


  • Author : Gay Talese
  • Publisher : Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
  • Release : 2016-07-12
  • ISBN : 0802189733
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The controversial chronicle of a motel owner who secretly studied the sex lives of his guests by the renowned journalist and author of Thy Neighbor’s Wife. On January 7, 1980, in the run-up to the publication of his landmark bestseller Thy Neighbor’s Wife, Gay Talese received an anonymous letter from a man in Colorado. “Since learning of your long-awaited study of coast-to-coast sex in America,” the letter began, “I feel I have important information that I could contribute to its contents or to contents of a future book.” The man—Gerald Foos—hen divulged an astonishing secret: he had bought a motel outside Denver for the express purpose of satisfying his voyeuristic desires. Underneath its peaked roof, he had built an “observation platform” through which he could peer down on his unwitting guests. Over the years, Foos sent Talese hundreds of pages of notes on his guests, work that Foos believed made him a pioneering researcher into American society and sexuality. Through his Voyeur’s motel, he witnessed and recorded the harsh effects of the war in Vietnam, the upheaval in gender roles, the decline of segregation, and much more. In The Voyeur’s Motel. “the reader observes Talese observing Foos observing his guests.” An extraordinary work of narrative journalism, it is at once an examination of one unsettling man and a portrait of the secret life of the American heartland over the latter half of the twentieth century (Daily Mail, UK). “This is a weird book about weird people doing weird things, and I wouldn’t have put it down if the house were on fire.” —John Greenya, Washington Times

The Voyeur's Motel


  • Author : Gay Talese
  • Publisher : Grove Press
  • Release : 2017-04-06
  • ISBN : 9781611855302
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The Voyeur's Motel


  • Author : Gay Talese
  • Publisher : Atlantic Books Ltd
  • Release : 2016-07-14
  • ISBN : 1611859549
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

From Gay Talese, a remarkable new work of reportage more than thirty years in the making. On January 7, 1980, in the run-up to the publication of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Gay Talese received an anonymous letter from a man in Colorado. 'Since learning of your long awaited study of coast-to-coast sex in America,' the letter began, 'I feel I have important information that I could contribute to its contents or to contents of a future book.' The man went on to tell Talese a remarkable, shocking secret, so compelling that Talese travelled to Colorado to verify it in person. But because the letter-writer insisted on remaining anonymous, Talese filed his reporting away, certain the story would remain untold. Over the next thirty-five years, the man occasionally reached out to Talese to fill him in on the latest developments in his life, but he continued to insist on anonymity. Finally, after thirty-five years, he's ready to go public. In the tradition of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Talese's landmark, best-selling exploration of the sexual revolution in America, this will be a provocative, eye-opening and much-talked-about book.

Thy Neighbor's Wife


  • Author : Gay Talese
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 2009-06-16
  • ISBN : 9780061872280
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The provocative classic work newly updated An intimate personal odyssey across America's changing sexual landscape When first published, Gay Talese's 1981 groundbreaking work, Thy Neighbor's Wife, shocked a nation with its powerful, eye-opening revelations about the sexual activities and proclivities of the American public in the era before AIDS. A marvel of journalistic courage and craft, the book opened a window into a new world built on a new moral foundation, carrying the reader on a remarkable journey from the Playboy Mansion to the Supreme Court, to the backyards and bedrooms of suburbia—through the development of the porn industry, the rise of the "swinger" culture, the legal fight to define obscenity, and the daily sex lives of "ordinary" people. It is the book that forever changed the way Americans look at themselves and one another.

The Kingdom and the Power


  • Author : Gay Talese
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 2013-08-14
  • ISBN : 0679644733
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The classic inside story of The New York Times, the most prestigious, and perhaps the most powerful, of all American newspapers. Bestselling author Talese lays bare the secret internal intrigues behind the tradition of front page exposes in a story as gripping as a work of fiction and as immediate as today's headlines.

Unto the Sons


  • Author : Gay Talese
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 2014-11-12
  • ISBN : 0307765415
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

"An Italian ROOTS." The Washington Post Book World At long last, Gay Talese, one of America's greatest living authors, employs his prodigious storytelling gifts to tell the saga of his own family's emigration to America from Italy in the years preceding World War II. Ultimately it is the story of all immigrant families and the hope and sacrifice that took them from the familiarity of the old world into the mysteries and challenges of the new.

The V-Spot


  • Author : Wendy S. Marcus
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release : 2014-10-08
  • ISBN : 1460339592
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

How hot is your night going to get? Take the quiz and find out! 1. You're a curvy, cute and practical nurse, ready to unleash your inner naughty nymphette for your 25th birthday. You start with… a. Chocolate cake. b. Champagne. Lots of it. c. A blind date set up by your daring best friend. 2. Your guy turns out to be popular (and insanely hot) wrestler Brody "The Bull" Bullock. You… a. Run for the door. b. Admire his hotness, then run for the door. c. Imagine him naked. 3. You're meeting Brody at V-Spot, a "Voyeur Motel." What are you wearing? a. A cute sundress with wedge sandals b. You're not going anywhere without Spanx c. Doesn't matter. Brody is sexy enough that it's all coming off! If you selected all of the above, you're in for the night of your life….

A Writer's Life


  • Author : Gay Talese
  • Publisher : Random House Incorporated
  • Release : 2007
  • ISBN : 0812977289
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

An impassioned and candid memoir by the influential writer shares his personal and professional life as he reflects on the events, personalities, places, and ideas that have shaped his life and work, from the civil rights struggle and changing American sexual mores to memorable people, both famous and not, whom he has profiled. Reprint. 25,000 first printing.

White Fur


  • Author : Jardine Libaire
  • Publisher : Hogarth Press
  • Release : 2017
  • ISBN : 0451497929
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

"When Elise Perez meets Jamey Hyde on a desolate winter afternoon, fate implodes, and neither of their lives will ever be the same. Although they are next-door neighbors in New Haven, they come from different worlds. Elise grew up in a housing project without a father and didn't graduate from high school; Jamey is a junior at Yale, heir to a private investment bank fortune and beholden to high family expectations. Nevertheless, the attraction is instant, and what starts out as sexual obsession turns into something greater, stranger, and impossible to ignore."--

Frank Sinatra Has a Cold


  • Author : Gay Talese,Phil Stern
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2015
  • ISBN : 9783836547543
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

"Sinatra with a cold is Picasso without paint, Ferrari without fuel -- only worse. For the common cold robs Sinatra of that uninsurable jewel, his voice, cutting into the core of his confidence." --Gay Talese In the winter of 1965, writer Gay Talese set out for Los Angeles with an assignment from Esquire to write a major profile on Frank Sinatra. When he arrived, he found the singer and his vigilant entourage on the defensive: Sinatra was under the weather, not available, and not willing to be interviewed. Undeterred, Talese stayed on in L.A., believing Sinatra might recover and reconsider, and used the meantime to observe the star from a careful distance and to interview his friends, associates, family members, and hangers-on. Sinatra never did grant the one-on-one he had hoped for, but Talese's tenacity paid off: his profile Frank Sinatra Has a Cold went down in history as a tour de force of literary nonfiction and the advent of the "New Journalism." Its incisive portrait of Sinatra in the recording studio, on location, out on the town, and with the eponymous cold, revealed as much about a singular star persona as it did about the Hollywood machine. In this Collector's Edition, Frank Sinatra Has a Cold is published in traditional letterpress, with an introduction by Gay Talese and facsimile reproductions of manuscript pages, correspondence, and original storyboard, revealing the making of this New Journalism marvel. To complete the Sinatra picture, the text and archival material is interwoven with photographs of Sinatra from the legendary lens of Phil Stern, the only photographer granted access to Sinatra over four decades, as well as from top photojournalists of the '60s including John Bryson, John Dominis, and Terry O'Neill. Reproduced in rich duotone, the photographs compliment Talese's character study by documenting the many complex facets of Sinatra: the voice, the showman, the doting father, the Hollywood magnet, and the man with, in his own words, an "over-acute capacity for sadness as well as elation."