Valencia and Valentine


  • Author : Suzy Krause
  • Publisher : Lake Union Publishing
  • Release : 2019-06
  • ISBN : 9781542040396
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, debut author Suzy Krause delivers a quirky, colorful story about love, loss, second chances, and what it means to truly live. Valencia, a timid debt collector with crippling OCD, is afraid of many things, but the two that scare her most are flying and turning thirty-five. To confront those fears, Valencia's therapist suggests that she fly somewhere--anywhere--before her upcoming birthday. And as Valencia begins a telephone romance with a man from New York, she suddenly has a destination in mind. There's only one problem--he might not actually exist. Mrs. Valentine is an eccentric old woman desperate for company, be it from neighbors, telemarketers, or even the funeral director (when you're her age, you go to a lot of funerals). So she's thrilled when the new cleaning girl provides a listening ear for her life's story--a tale of storybook love and incredible adventures around the world with her husband before his mysterious and sudden disappearance. The stories of Valencia and Mrs. Valentine may at first appear to have nothing in common...but then again, nothing in life is as straightforward as it seems.

Gos Rater Valencia is My Valentine


  • Author : Wowpooch Press
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2020-01-31
  • ISBN :
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A humorous covered notebook for people who loves the special dog breed. The cover of this journal is dedicated for those people who don't care what others think of them. They only care about what their dog thinks. Our designers want to show true respect for this cute dog breed lovers. By this cover, we tried to show our true love and affection for this nice puppies. 120 blank wide lined white pages Duo sided wide ruled sheets Perfect sturdy matte softbound cover 6" x 9" dimensions; we consider it one of the perfect size for your purse, desk, backpack, school, home or work You can feel free to use this as a notebook, journal, diary or composition book for school and works Perfectly suited for taking notes, writing, organizing, lists, journaling and brainstorming Can be a perfect gift for adults and kids for any gift giving occasion Designed in USA

Sorry I Missed You


  • Author : Suzy Krause
  • Publisher : Lake Union Publishing
  • Release : 2020-06-02
  • ISBN : 9781542010207
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

A poignant and heartwarming novel about friendship, ghosting, and searching for answers to life's mysteries. When Mackenzie, Sunna, and Maude move into a converted rental house, they are strangers with only one thing in common--important people in their lives have "ghosted" them. Mackenzie's sister, Sunna's best friend, and Maude's fiancé--all gone with no explanation. So when a mangled, near-indecipherable letter arrives in their shared mailbox--hinting at long-awaited answers--each tenant assumes it's for her. The mismatched trio decides to stake out the coffee shop named in the letter--the only clue they have--and in the process, a bizarre kinship forms. But the more they learn about each other, the more questions (and suspicions) they begin to have. All the while, creepy sounds and strange happenings around the property suggest that the ghosts from their pasts might not be all that's haunting them... Will any of the housemates find the closure they are looking for? Or are some doors meant to remain closed? Quirky, humorous, and utterly original, Sorry I Missed You is the perfect read for anyone who has ever felt haunted by their past (or by anything else).

The Supreme Macaroni Company


  • Author : Adriana Trigiani
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 2014-09-25
  • ISBN : 1471100332
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The heartwarming new novel from bestselling Richard & Judy author Adriana Trigiani 'A person who can build a pair of shoes can do just about anything.' The Angelini Shoe Company in Greenwich Village has been creating sumptuous shoes for a hundred years. And now it falls to Valentine Roncalli, heir to the family firm, to turn its esteemed past into a glorious future. Uniting both professionally and romantically with master craftsman Gianluca Vechiarelli, with his full and complex past and a secret to hide, proud, passionate Valentine is determined to make her mark. Once their wedding celebrations are over, she wakes up to the reality of juggling the demands of a business and the needs of her new family. And as she is confronted by painful choices, she must fight for everything she wants and savour all she deserves - the bitter and the sweet of life itself. Romantic and poignant, told with Adriana's trademark humour and warmth, and bursting with a cast of endearing characters, this is an unforgettable feast of delights and the most beautiful handmade shoes. 'I don't know how Adriana goes into her family's attic and emerges with these amazing stories, I'm just happy she does' Kathryn Stockett, bestselling author of The Help 'New York ambition clashes with dolce vita ease in Trigiani's delicious latest. . . . Feisty and poignant . . . Readers will root for Valentine and the lessons she learns--which apply equally to designing elegant shoes and to crafting a rewarding life' People 'Superb. Trigiani's ability to bring the large, warm, enveloping--if somewhat dysfunctional--family to life will keep any reader engrossed and entertained' Publishers Weekly

Valentine


  • Author : Elizabeth Wetmore
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 2020-03-31
  • ISBN : 006291328X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

An instant New York Times Bestseller A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick! "A thrilling debut that deserves your attention." –Ron Charles, the Washington Post Written with the haunting emotional power of Elizabeth Strout and Barbara Kingsolver, an astonishing debut novel that explores the lingering effects of a brutal crime on the women of one small Texas oil town in the 1970s. Mercy is hard in a place like this . . . It’s February 1976, and Odessa, Texas, stands on the cusp of the next great oil boom. While the town’s men embrace the coming prosperity, its women intimately know and fear the violence that always seems to follow. In the early hours of the morning after Valentine’s Day, fourteen-year-old Gloria Ramírez appears on the front porch of Mary Rose Whitehead’s ranch house, broken and barely alive. The teenager had been viciously attacked in a nearby oil field—an act of brutality that is tried in the churches and barrooms of Odessa before it can reach a court of law. When justice is evasive, the stage is set for a showdown with potentially devastating consequences. Valentine is a haunting exploration of the intersections of violence and race, class and region in a story that plumbs the depths of darkness and fear, yet offers a window into beauty and hope. Told through the alternating points of view of indelible characters who burrow deep in the reader’s heart, this fierce, unflinching, and surprisingly tender novel illuminates women’s strength and vulnerability, and reminds us that it is the stories we tell ourselves that keep us alive.

Out of My Mind


  • Author : Sharon M. Draper
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 2012-05-01
  • ISBN : 1416971718
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Considered by many to be mentally retarded, a brilliant, impatient fifth-grader with cerebral palsy discovers a technological device that will allow her to speak for the first time.

San Francisco (San Francisco County, Calif.) City Directory


  • Author : N.A
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 1890
  • ISBN :
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

How Stella Got Her Groove Back


  • Author : Terry McMillan
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 2004-01-06
  • ISBN : 9781101209127
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Stella Payne is forty-two, divorced, a high-powered investment analyst, mother of eleven-year-old Quincy—and she does it all. In fact, if she doesn't do it, it doesn't get done, from Little League carpool duty to analyzing portfolios to folding the laundry and bringing home the bacon. She does it all well, too, if her chic house, personal trainer, BMW, and her loving son are any indication. So what if there's been no one to share her bed with lately, let alone rock her world? Stella doesn't mind it too much; she probably wouldn't have the energy for love—and all of love's nasty fallout—anyway. But when Stella takes a spur-of-the-moment vacation to Jamaica, her world gets rocked to the core—not just by the relaxing effects of the sun and sea and an island full of attractive men, but by one man in particular. He's tall, lean, soft-spoken, Jamaican, smells of citrus and the ocean—and is half her age. The tropics have cast their spell and Stella soon realizes she has come to a cataclysmic juncture: not only must she confront her hopes and fears about love, she must question all of her expectations, passions, and ideas about life and the way she has lived it. Told in Stella's own exuberant, dead-on, dead honest voice, How Stella Got Her Groove Back is full of Terry McMillan's signature humor, heart, and insight. More than a love story, it is ultimately a novel about how a woman saves her own life—and what she must risk to do it.

Option B


  • Author : Sheryl Sandberg,Adam M. Grant
  • Publisher : Knopf
  • Release : 2017
  • ISBN : 1524732680
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

"The author's experience with grief after the sudden death of her husband, combined with social science on resilience"--

A Valentine for Frankenstein


  • Author : Leslie Kimmelman
  • Publisher : Carolrhoda Books
  • Release : 2018
  • ISBN : 151243129X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Frankenstein stands out at the Valentine's Day Bash for being less monstrous than the other guests, but to one smelly, rude creature that makes him the perfect valentine.