Where We Belong


  • Author : Emily Giffin
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release : 2012-07-24
  • ISBN : 1429957867
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The author of several blockbuster novels, Emily Giffin's Where We Belong delivers an unforgettable story of two women, the families that make them who they are, and the longing, loyalty and love that binds them together Marian Caldwell is a thirty-six year old television producer, living her dream in New York City. With a fulfilling career and satisfying relationship, she has convinced everyone, including herself, that her life is just as she wants it to be. But one night, Marian answers a knock on the door . . . only to find Kirby Rose, an eighteen-year-old girl with a key to a past that Marian thought she had sealed off forever. From the moment Kirby appears on her doorstep, Marian's perfectly constructed world—and her very identity—will be shaken to its core, resurrecting ghosts and memories of a passionate young love affair that threaten everything that has come to define her. For the precocious and determined Kirby, the encounter will spur a process of discovery that ushers her across the threshold of adulthood, forcing her to re-evaluate her family and future in a wise and bittersweet light. As the two women embark on a journey to find the one thing missing in their lives, each will come to recognize that where we belong is often where we least expect to find ourselves—a place that we may have willed ourselves to forget, but that the heart remembers forever.

Where We Belong


  • Author : Shann McPherson
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release : 2020-02-21
  • ISBN : 0008381968
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

‘Devoured this captivating romance in one evening without coming up for air... Addictive.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Where We Belong


  • Author : Paul Shepard
  • Publisher : University of Georgia Press
  • Release : 2003
  • ISBN : 9780820324203
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Gathered here in book form for the first time, the fourteen essays in Where We Belong exemplify Paul Shepard's interdisciplinary approach to human interaction with the natural world. Drawn from Shepard's entire career and presented chronologically, these pieces vary in setting from the Hudson River to the American prairie to New Zealand. Equally impressive is Shepard's spatial range, as he moves from subtle differences to grand designs, from the intimacy of an artist's brush stroke to a vista of the harsh Greek terrain. Alluding to a range of sources from Star Trek to Marshall McLuhan to the Bible, the writings discuss such topics as the geomorphology of New England landscape paintings, beautification and conservation projects, the Oregon Trail, and tourism. Whether Shepard is pondering why the Great Plains conjured up sea imagery in early observers, or how pioneers often resorted to architectural terms--temple, castle, bridge, tower--when naming the West's natural formations, he exposes, and thus invites us to unshoulder, the cultural and historical baggage we bring to the act of seeing. Throughout the book, Shepard seeks the antecedents of environmental perception and questions whether the paradigm we inherited should be superseded by one that leads us to a greater concern for the health of the planet. This volume is an important addition to Shepard's canon if only for the new view it offers of his intellectual development. More important, however, these selections demonstrate Shepard's grasp of a wide range of ideas related to the physical environment, including the various factors--historical, aesthetic, and psychological--that have shaped our attitudes toward the natural world and color the way we see it.

Where We Belong


  • Author : Hoda Kotb
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 2017-01-03
  • ISBN : 1476752435
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The "Today" co-anchor shares the inspiring stories of people who found their life's purpose in unexpected ways, from a Wall Street investment banker-turned-minister to a blue-collar woman who attended Harvard Medical School.

Where We Belong


  • Author : Emily Giffin
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release : 2012-07-24
  • ISBN : 1429957867
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The author of several blockbuster novels, Emily Giffin's Where We Belong delivers an unforgettable story of two women, the families that make them who they are, and the longing, loyalty and love that binds them together Marian Caldwell is a thirty-six year old television producer, living her dream in New York City. With a fulfilling career and satisfying relationship, she has convinced everyone, including herself, that her life is just as she wants it to be. But one night, Marian answers a knock on the door . . . only to find Kirby Rose, an eighteen-year-old girl with a key to a past that Marian thought she had sealed off forever. From the moment Kirby appears on her doorstep, Marian's perfectly constructed world—and her very identity—will be shaken to its core, resurrecting ghosts and memories of a passionate young love affair that threaten everything that has come to define her. For the precocious and determined Kirby, the encounter will spur a process of discovery that ushers her across the threshold of adulthood, forcing her to re-evaluate her family and future in a wise and bittersweet light. As the two women embark on a journey to find the one thing missing in their lives, each will come to recognize that where we belong is often where we least expect to find ourselves—a place that we may have willed ourselves to forget, but that the heart remembers forever.

Where We Belong


  • Author : Pamela Evans
  • Publisher : Headline
  • Release : 2010-12-09
  • ISBN : 0755381963
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

The promises of new adventures in love and in life are on the horizon for a young mother, but sabotage is also just around the corner... A heart-warming and thrilling sixties London saga from much-loved author Pam Evans, Where We Belong is a reminder of the powerful consequences of love, hope and jealousy. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lindsey Hutchinson. One day in 1964 Rachel West's husband walked out on his wife and two young sons, leaving them nothing but pain and heartache. Now, two years later, struggling in a poorly paid job, Rachel feels her luck will never change. So when she finds herself the new owner of her late Uncle Chip's Hammersmith boat-building business she wonders if it's too good to be true. Why would Chip have left it to her when he has a son himself? The business is only just afloat - thanks to the hard work of Chip's charismatic assistant, Ben - but Rachel is determined to restore it to its former glory for the sake of her sons. And before long, she realises that she's falling in love with the kind-hearted and handsome Ben. But her good fortune doesn't last for long - someone is maliciously plotting to sabotage her plans... What readers are saying about Where We Belong: 'This is a wonderful story and I found it hard to put the book down, the author has a wonderful knack of telling great stories' 'Another great book by Pamela Evans. A lovely storyline and great characters. It's great to know that whenever I buy a Pamela Evans book I'm in for a good read'

Where We Belong


  • Author : Catherine Ryan Hyde
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 2014-07-18
  • ISBN : 085752061X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Fourteen-year-old Angie and her mum are on the brink of homelessness... again. The problem is her little sister, Sophie. Sophie has a form of autism, and a tendency to shriek. Home never seems to last long. Until they move in with Aunt Vi, across the fence from a huge Great Dane. Sophie falls in love, and begins to imitate the dogâe(tm)s calm nature. The shrieking stops. Everyone relaxes. Until Paul, the dog's grumpy, socially isolated owner, moves away. Much to Angie's humiliation, her mum thinks they can follow Paul and his dog. Once reunited, despite a huge age gap, Angie and Paul form the closest friendship either has known. But Angie risks everything to help Paul's dream come true, even their friendship and her one chance at a real home âe" the only thing she's dreamed of since her father was killed. A place she wonâe(tm)t be thrown out of. A place she can feel she belongs.

Where We Belong


  • Author : J. Daniels
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2015-08-18
  • ISBN : 9781970127065
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

From New York Times bestselling author, J. Daniels, comes the fourth book in the sexy and hilariously charming Alabama Summer series. Ben and Mia Kelly can

Where We Belong


  • Author : Lindsay Paige
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2020-02-06
  • ISBN : 9781732587441
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Collin Kessy is more than meets the eye. Most only see one half of a star hockey duo and not what he keeps hidden away. Collin's life begins to fall apart at the seams when his anxiety interferes with his performance on the ice. This is the worst possible time for a breakdown since his twin's ex-girlfriend just moved in. Julie Lockwood almost always has bad luck and it seems to follow her everywhere, even across state lines as she runs into Collin's arms. Julie is certain if anyone can shine a light on her dreary life, it's Collin. The secrets she keeps are to protect him, but she knows they will come to the surface as they begin a long-awaited relationship. Collin and Julie are finally where they belong: together. They simply must travel a road of secrets, danger, and heartache first.

Where We Belong To


  • Author : Christian Scheinpflug
  • Publisher : GRIN Verlag
  • Release : 2011-08-11
  • ISBN : 3640982312
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Essay from the year 2011 in the subject Politics - International Politics - Topic: Globalization, Political Economics, grade: 2.0, The Open University, language: English, abstract: Material objects are important for peoples' sense of belonging. This paper explores, with the help of real world examples, on how important exactly. The sense of belonging is to be established in relation to place and community. In the course of the essay it also will become clear that it is not always easy to distinguish between territory as spatial entity and territory in a metaphysical community-based sense.